RSS Feed

The Ugly Season

Posted on

Weather has been a pretty constant topic of conversation this winter-and with good reason.  I can’t remember the last time we had such a consistently snowy or cold winter.  Since I’m usually complaining when the winter is unseasonably warm, I have been actually pretty happy about it.  I do wish we had actually played in the snow more, though. And sometimes it’s been downright inconvenient. I think the animals, in particular, haven’t really enjoyed being confined to the shoveled paths.
Black & White
Yesterday I took Pippin and my mom’s dog over to the field to try a walk there.  Not a great idea, but once we were halfway into it we had to just keep struggling through the deep wet snow (in boots I hadn’t laced tightly enough and didn’t have socks on and my boots filled icy slush) until we made it back.  Quite a workout for 12 and 14 year old dogs. But at least we got to check out this bird’s nest up close.
winter bird's best

An ill-advised walk

You know what else has been nice about the extended snow? I often think of February as a dirty grey/brown mess. Since everything has been covered in frozen white it’s looked pretty almost all month! However, I think we are definitely headed into the ugly season now. Things started thawing this week and the mud is starting to show up and the banks on the side of the highway are a disgusting black snow. I’m wondering what sorts of things will be revealed when the snow is gone. I know I’ve lost at least one chicken feed scoop somewhere out there. I had a few moments panic after all the snow on the garage fell off in a giant avalanche that there would be chicken bodies buried in the snow, but fortunately all are accounted for. Rain and warming temps have made today incredibly foggy.
Fog
I’m just hoping that the thaw will finally unfreeze the pipes that would allow us to have heat. Because even though 40 sounds so warm after 20 degree days, it’s pretty chilly, and it’s a total drag trying to keep a fire going with somewhat damp wood!

About Sarah

A former librarian who is still passionate about ya lit, I'm raising my beautiful son and daughter in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cookings, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog, personal blog, and photo of the day blog.

One response »

  1. Great photos. I love the contrast in the colours of the hens and the white snow. The last photo looks so eerie. Being in Australia, I know I wouldn’t be able to cope with the amount and length of the snow that you guys have put up with this winter. As for the slush as it all melts, I would be annoyed at the mess. I am thinking I am a bit precious. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 374 other followers

