RSS Feed

Christmas Magic completed!

Posted on

With plenty of time to go before Christmas 2014, I’ve just finished my Christmas embroidery project. I’m so pleased with it. It comes from an illustration in a children’s book-Christmas with the Mousekins.  I always liked it in the book and it was a revelation to realize-“hey! Why don’t I photocopy the picture, enlarge it, and transfer it?” And it’s not just an illustration-in the book it is a framed piece of stitching.
Ta-da! Christmas magic finished!
This was pretty much all backstitch and satin stitch.  The red bow gave me the most trouble and I don’t love it, but that’s ok. I think the text came out well. My favorite is the blue and green present.Ta-da! Christmas magic finished!
But I also like the candle and I love the heart and leaves at the bottom.
Ta-da! Christmas magic finished!
When I look at this I can see that the bow and leaves should have lined up and they are slightly askew, but I don’t mind too much. What attracted me to this was not just the picture, but what the words actually say about Christmas time.  I’m going to have this professionally framed in an oval frame, so that we may cherish it every year at Christmas.  I like to think that many years from now we’ll be pulling that out at Christmas and some grandchild will ask about it and I’ll say “Oh, I made that a long time ago when your mom/dad was little.”
Ta-da! Christmas magic finished!

About Sarah

A former librarian who is still passionate about ya lit, I'm raising my beautiful son and daughter in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cookings, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog, personal blog, and photo of the day blog.

4 responses »

  1. That’s beautiful, Sarah.
    -Shannon

    Reply
  2. This is lovely! Your embroidery skills are enviable and I’m sure this piece will be cherished for years.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

