RSS Feed

Eating the Garden

Posted on

The garden is lavishly producing zucchini now, and I’ve also gotten cucumbers, tomatoes, and carrots.  The carrots were packed way too tightly together so I decided I needed to think them. To my surprise I actually got quite a few that were a nice enough size to eat. Look! Real carrots! (These are my first successful carrots, so I’m pretty excited.) Here’s a victorious handful:
Carrots!
And scrubbed up:
More carrots

Here’s a garden grub dinner: carrots, zucchini fritters, and cucumber salad.
A garden grub dinner
I’ve been tossing the zucchini in almost everything. Here I sliced it and put it on some focaccia for a delicious special summer lunch.
More Garden Grub
It’s unfortunate that really the way I love all my summer produce best is wrapped up in cakes. Here’s what I did with my blueberries, made a hasty strawberry-blueberry pie:
Sloppy Hasty Strawberry Pie
And then a blueberry buckle:
Blueberry Buckle

 

I love summer cooking!

About Sarah

A former librarian who is still passionate about ya lit, I'm raising my beautiful son and daughter in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cookings, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog, personal blog, and photo of the day blog.

One response »

  1. I had my first successful carrots last year..they were the best! everything looks wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 365 other followers

