RSS Feed

Bring on the tomatoes

Posted on

The tomatoes are ripening ever rapidly.
Ripening
I finally picked the humongous oxheart tomato and it weighed in at 1 1/2 lbs.
Oxheart Tomato

Oxheart Tomato
BLTs and homemade pizza were on the menu this weekend to take advantage of them.
Pizza Redux
The delicious Jersey corn is making an appearance now, too, and we had friends bring up 3 dozen from the farmstand by their house.  Sunday morning Paul efficiently cooked and zipped it and packed it for the freezer. We set aside some for a perfect August dinner: a tielle made with zucchini, potato, and tomato (tomatoes and zucchini from the garden); corn on the cob, and peach crisp for dessert. Oh, and while everyone had their BLTs for lunch I had a BLC-bacon, lettuce, and some of the just cooked and zipped corn. It was heavenly and tasted like summer. Tonight I took all the tomatoes and roasted them and packed them for the freezer.  Oh, and we also ate roasted beets and carrots straight from the garden. The beets were sweet and delicious I couldn’t believe it!

Our weeds may be crazy as ever and our garden rather jungle like, but I have to say that this summer I am absolutely thrilled with the look of everything-bright cheerful annuals in the front yard, clusters of swaying Queen Anne’s lace, bright gaudy gladiolas scattered about, the fluttering fabric wreath,  the ever expanding gourd area with its huge bright yellow blossoms and trailing vines
Nice Pistil

In Gourd City
and the morning glories that, despite my best efforts, grew up all over the peas and are now blooming.
Morning Glory
It’s all quite beautiful! Oh! and the milkweed has paid off as we’ve had sightings of several monarch butterflies. We were all really excited by that and they are so striking looking.
More monarchs
And I’m really pleased with everything we planted this year.  The only things we didn’t plant that I wish we had (*take note, Future Sarah) are green beans and butternut squash. And everything we did actually plant is stuff I am happily eating and harvesting.

Remember I mentioned the Scraptherapy book and concept? Well I still haven’t done that, but I have felt inspired to make a scrap quilt-one made entirely of squares (inspired by one I saw on Flickr) and to start using pieces in my fabric stash. Once I got going I couldn’t stop and I dumped out all of my fabric (which is still waiting for me to put it away) and cut out 100 5″ squares.
Scrap Patchwork: In progress
It’s meant to be bright and cheerful, not necessarily coordinating and ultimately be a picnic quilt. You know, for all those picnics under trees we have? Well, at least in my head that’s what it looks like. I’m sure this won’t be the final layout, but I rather liked this second layout of all the squares.
Scrap Patchwork: In progress
Wouldn’t this be a fun quilt to lie on or snuggle up with? Sweetie thinks so
Scrap Patchwork: In progress

About Sarah

A former librarian who is still passionate about ya lit, I'm raising my beautiful son and daughter in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cookings, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog, personal blog, and photo of the day blog.

One response »

  1. That is SUCH an impressive tomato! I’ve never grown one so big. I feel like you might have won a prize at a fair or something! And I *love* your scrap quilt idea! After having just moved, I’m still getting things in Craftytown sorted out, but I’m really looking forward to getting back to the several quilt projects I have in progress at the moment. A scrap quilt like that would be a great de-stashing project for all the small bits I can’t bear to throw away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 370 other followers

