RSS Feed

Birthday Cake

Posted on

After much debate over what kind of cake to make for my kid’s birthday we decided on a #2 (I just couldn’t bear the thought of eating the red frosting that a fire engine cake would require!) How to make a number 2 shaped cake? I used two boxes of yellow cake mix (so a double recipe if you were making a cake from scratch-I never bother to do so for yellow cake), and baked two 9-inch rounds and one 13×9 rectangular pan. On a paper I (and by “I” I mean my husband who is way better at spacial relations than I am) traced the rectangular and circular pans. Then I drew a small circle out of the middle of the big circle and a sort of wedge shape out of the remaining. Thus it formed the top of a numeral two. The rectangular template used half of the rectangle to form a little of the swoop of the 2 as well as the bottom of it. So I had two lower halves from the rectangle, and two upper halves from the two circles. img_8275.jpgOn a foil covered tray I placed a top and bottom and slathered them with buttercream frosting. Then I had a filling of lots of frosting and sliced strawberries. Then placed the two tops on and more frosting all over. It made a very large cake and was very delicious. It even frosted really nicely (I refrigerated quite a bit, due to it being summer and with the strawberries and all. )

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Birthday Cakes by Kathryn Kleinman « The Last Book I Read

Leave a Reply

