RSS Feed

Putting Food By: The Corn Zipper

Posted on

I love to think that I will someday be a champion canner of all the produce we get in the summer, especially tomatoes. So far all I’ve done is get the canning jars–two years ago. Maybe this is the summer? Until then, I’ll just keep using my old standby-the freezer. The thing we freeze the most of is corn. This is a carryover from my childhood, when my grandparents lived in Vermont and had a very large garden. The corn they froze from their garden we called “Vermont corn” and was always very delicious and a treat to have in the winter. Now, all grown up with my own kitchen and living in a state with wonderful and abundant local corn, I fill my own freezer with it. My method is this: boil water, plunge the shucked corn on the cob in the water for about 2 minutes, take it out. When cool enough to handle remove the corn from the cob making sure to squeeze out any liquid into your bowl with the corn. Add some butter and salt if so inclined, pack into quart sized freezer bags, and freeze flat. Last night my husband got 8 bags out of 26 ears of corn. This summer I bought a gadget called the “corn zipper.” I hemmed and hawed over another kitchen gadget, but I can assure you that the $14.95 is well worth it. Before, when I used a knife, I always got corn kernels all over the kitchen. The zipper mysteriously eliminates that. It just zips the kernels right off the cob! (By the way, I bought mine from King Arthur Flour, though I don’t see it on the site right now. King Arthur is a great resource for baking needs.)

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. I’m using my corn zipper for the first time tonight and I JUST CAN’T WAIT! I’ll write an IPB Eats post all about it, and how much I love you for steering me into its gadgety embrace!

    Reply
  2. I used my corn zipper tonight! And you’re right — it’s awesome! I have to ask, though: do you have a system to it? I kind of used mine haphazardly and think I may have wasted some corn in the doing… (But dang it all, that Kerr’s farmstand corn is CRAZY delicious!)

    Reply
  3. I just pulled it down lengthwise and anything I missed i just went over and over it again. Glad you enjoyed it!

    Reply
  4. Oh, I’m so glad to hear I used mine the same way you did! I was concerned that I’m a corntard or something, so it’s good to hear at least one other person is taking the same haphazard approach.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

