RSS Feed

What’s for dessert? Pavlova!

Posted on

I had some friends over yesterday with their kids. While we were watching the kids play we were talking about how a few 2 year olds can make toys end up everywhere. I commented that I’d long given up putting the toys away every day. I believe the others were horrified, as they both said that of course they cleaned up every single day. Well, not me. Instead I choose to spend my time making wonderful and delicious desserts, like this pavlova. img_0175.jpgAll summer I’ve been craving this and when I saw the very ripe blackberries in our garden yesterday, I knew the time had come. I took the blackberries and tossed them with blueberries and sliced strawberries and a little sugar and let them sit to get nice and juicy. Heavy cream was whipped right before assembling, and the pavlova was made as follows:

Beat 4 egg whites with a pinch of salt until satiny peaks form. Beat in 1 1/4 c sugar, a third at a time, until the meringe is stiff and shiny. Sprinkle 2 t cornstarch, 1 t white vinegar, and a few drops of vanilla over it and fold in lightly. Mound the meringue into a nice circle on a piece of parchment paper on a baking sheet. Place in a preheated 350 degree oven and immediately reduce the heat to 300 degrees. Bake for 1 hour, then turn the oven off, leaving the meringue to cool completely inside the oven.

To serve pile the meringue with whipped cream and the berries.

This looks fancy and is a lovely dessert for company, but is also pretty simple and a nice treat for yourself as well. I think I would also like to use a few drops almond extract instead of vanilla for a nice almond flavor.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

