RSS Feed

Baking with a 2 Year Old: Plum-Nectarine Buckle

Posted on

Having a bunch of nectarines I didn’t want to go to waste, as well as some plums, I found this recipe for Plum-Nectarine Buckle. I’m drawn to buckles not only because they are yummy, but also because I can’t make one without thinking of my library school friend laughing when I made us a blueberry buckle and saying “buckle” over and over again. Since my son has cruelly decided to hurt me by not napping for lo these one and a half weeks, I had to invite him to bake with me. Now, I love the thought of my child baking with me and was thrilled the first time he did. I set him up with measuring spoons, his own bowl, an apron, a little dish of cinammon, flour, and sugar and it was very sweet to see him stirring and pouring.  However, baking now has degenerated into, in his own words, “eat sugar”. He also likes to dump things on the floor and pull out as many measuring cups and spoons as possible. Yesterday he tasted cornstarch while I made the pavlova. Today he tasted salt. I felt like I was in a race against sugar eating while I frantically tried to whisk my dry ingredients together and cut up all my fruit. He did have a wonderful milestone today: licking cake batter out of a bowl.  He approved of it immensely.  Ultimately I sent him off to watch Maisy for 10 minutes while I finished up. Happily, my finished product was untainted by him and delicious and rich and buttery. I think I should have used a 9 inch round pan instead of an 8 inch square, and I should have let it bake for 10 more minutes. Oh well. It all turned out pretty well, considering, and frankly I’m just glad I didn’t omit any ingredients accidentally (as happened with great regularity when he was first born and I was all distracted.)

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. However, baking now has degenerated into, in his own words, “eat sugar”.

    That made me laugh out loud!

    Reply
  2. Hey is this ME?? I’m so vain. I hope it is, becuase as I read the title of this post I started to laugh myself!! I love the word buckle–but I daresay I’ve not made one yet. I do love hearing about your experience with Clark–so reminiscent. Nowadays, with a 4YO he is getting to be the perfect age. He enjoys helping me, and of course licking the bowl–but he usually doesn’t eat anything i make–except for the sweets, but he is unbelievable finicky (more on that later). And oh how I can sympathize with the no nap thing. Ryan gave those up for good when he was 2.5 and I thought i was going to DIE–esp. while prego, i was sooo exhausted. I have to say I had much more energy once the baby was born, so much less physical exhaustion. Hope you enjoyed it.

    Reply
  3. Yes, it’s YOU I think of when I make buckle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

