RSS Feed

My First Decoupage Project: Cachepot

Posted on

I’ve said “Cachepot”, but I think there is another phrase to describe these tall metal flower containers. Possibly French something? Anyway, you know what it is. A lovely tall container that looks great with a big mess of flowers in it. img_7752.jpgI bought a bunch at Ikea, knowing they would be good for decoupage. I think any of these metal containers look nice for a variety of things. This project was the first one I ever did. It came about because I had been cutting up gardening catalogs for a collage program I was doing at the library. I loved cutting out all these flowers and shrubs and then sorting them by color. When I saw what a lovely rainbow of flowers I had I thought it would look great against the metal and make a neat rainbow spiral. I sat in front of the tv painstakingly arranging my pictures, overlapping them, gluing them down, and could not have been prouder of the end of the result.img_7753.jpg I foolishly gave it away as a gift to my mother. Foolish for two reasons. 1. Because now I don’t have it and I still really like it. and 2. Because several months later I was at her house and saw it in the bathroom being used as toilet brush holder. My mother was not home at the time and I was tempted to just take it away with me and never say anything about I was so irritated it at being used like that. I never said anything but a couple months ago asked where it was because I wanted to take these pictures. She produced it (did not say where it had been) and ever since then it has been on display with flowers in it. I know we can’t dictate what happens to gifts after we give them, but honestly, a toilet brush holder? Ew!img_7754.jpg

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. While I can’t say I’d be delighted if something I labored over like this ended up as a toilet brush holder, I’d certainly be thrilled to have such a lovely item in my bathroom! (Does that make me a hypocrite? Um, don’t answer that…)

    Reply
  2. Maybe someone needs to receive a special bathroom decoupage gift…

    Reply
  3. Take it back! Many years ago I gave my m-in-law a lovely little picture of a racoon painted on wood. Every time I was at her house I would see it in the bottom drawer or in a closet or somewhere other than on the wall. So finally I just took it home. Maybe youv’e seen it Sarah, its is on the cabinet by my kitchen sink. I guess this situation is a bit different since the piece is actually being used.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

