RSS Feed

Putting Food By: More Corn

Posted on

The influx of corn continues. I decided corn chowder would be a great thing to have in our freezer for fall, so set about finding a good recipe for it. It seems that even though I have a million wonderful cookbooks I always head right to Everday Food and Cooking Light to look up recipes. Lazy, lazy, I know. Anyway, despite there being a nice looking CL recipe in this month’s issue, I opted for a very simple Martha Stewart recipe. Good choice, Sarah. The Martha recipe is but a few ingredients and the corn really shines in it, accented by thyme and bacon. Of course I used my corn zipper to make short work of removing the kernels from my 8 ears of corn (double batch of the recipe.) I like to freeze soups (and many other things, including applesauce) in quart size freezer bags, laid flat. That way they stack up nice and flat in your freezer, and they are also easy to defrost pretty quickly in hot water.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. I really, really want to try this recipe! In fact, I might just do it this week (because I’m pretending it’s Fall now)! I’ve never frozen chowders and the like — do you have any difficulty with the texture of the potatoes when you thaw it? Is the milk a problem at all with the freezing? Am I a moron for thinking there would be issues with that?

    Reply
  2. You’re not a moron because last year we froze mashed potatoes and they were revolting!! Chowders do freeze fine. I’ll probably add more milk when I heat them up to make them a bit more liquidy.

    Reply
  3. Super! I really can’t wait to try this now! (And I’ll steer clear of freezing mashed potatoes… That really does sound heinous.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

