RSS Feed

Tin O’ Tomatoes

Posted on

We’re heading out on vacation tomorrow, driving to Ohio to visit some friends. Of course we wanted to bring a hostess gift, so we are bringing fresh Jersey tomatoes in this lovely decoupaged tin. img_0286.jpgNow, you would think decoupage is the homiest, boring old craft hobby ever. But get this–I had a freak accident this morning involving it! I was sitting outside cutting out these pictures of melons while my son played. I use a small very sharp pair of scissors for all my decoupage cutting. I was holding them in my hand when I went to put a fireman’s hat on my head (my son is very into wearing fireman hats) and I inadvertently swiftly stabbed myself in the scalp with scissors. I could not have felt more horrified or foolish. Head wounds bleed quite a bit and this was no exception. Blood was dripping everywhere and my hair quickly became matted with it. Fairly horrifying. However, it must have just been a very tiny cut because the bleeding stopped and I can’t even find the wound.

img_0285.jpgAnyway, for the this project I used pictures of melons from the back of an old Cook’s Illustrated. Their back covers always feature beautiful illustrations of different food types: melons, apples, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans, etc. All exquisitely drawn and labeled. I’ve used many of these for various projects and think they always look nice.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Wow — horror-movie head wounds! Geysers of blood! Decoupage is such a dangerous craft!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Hot Diggedy Glue Gun! « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

