RSS Feed

Porkfest ’07

Posted on

It’s that time of year again…Porkfest! Our good friends at IPB Eats hosted their 3rd annual Porkfest this Labor Day Weekend. It was porktastic. Guests did bring some contributions and I chose to bring dessert and also a cole slaw. I’ve lately been making some coleslaws and finding them very yummy. For this one I used about a half a green cabbage, three carrots, and a Pink Lady apple. I sent them all through my food processor so they were nicely shredded. For a dressing I whisked together white wine vinegar, mayonnaise, sugar, and poppy seeds. Not too much mayo, mind you. I wanted it fresh and zingy, not really creamy. It was great alongside or, as I prefer, atop our pulled pork sandwiches. (Last week I made the same thing, but added raisins and it was very delicious.)

gingerpeach.jpgFor dessert I had a bunch of beautiful fresh Jersey peaches, which I turned into a Ginger-Peach Cobbler. The recipe called for ground ginger in the cobbler topping, and I carried that along by serving it with fresh whipped cream into which I folded some crystallized ginger. I got the recipe from Sweet Treats by Mary Engelbreit, a gift some years ago. You’d think “Hmm…a cookbook from an illustrator? Isn’t it all about the drawings and cutesiness?” But really, it has excellent dessert recipes in it, especially the pies.sweet-treats.jpg

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

7 responses »

  1. The cobbler (buckle, crumble, whatev) was FAN-tabulous! The ginger in the crust and in the cream gave it such a nice zing that made it a good dessert for the time of year when it’s still really summer, but we all want it to be Autumn!

    Also, the slaw was phenomenal. I’m not a slaw person, really, so it was a fantastic surprise to discover I like a slaw! I hadn’t thought to try it on top of the pulled pork. You’ll just have to make this again next year!

    Reply
  2. I personally feel like the slaw made PorkFest! Thank you so, so, so, so much! DEE-lish!

    Reply
  3. Well thanks! I can now say that the slaw was not delicious the next day, as we just had the leftovers for dinner.

    Reply
  4. It wasn’t delicious the next day? What happened to it?

    Reply
  5. It just didn’t taste as crisp and fresh. The orange of the carrot had bled into the rest of the slaw too, so it looked less appealing.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: A Final Taste of Summer « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

