RSS Feed

It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

Posted on

xmas.jpgFor someone who likes cooking, entertaining, and decorating, there is no better season than Christmas. Christmas! It’s finally here! Time for baking, shopping, making little gift tags for presents, wrapping pretty boxes, adorning the house with lights and boughs of green and red ribbon and all sorts of things that I’d find tacky and weird any other time of year. One of my very favorite things about Christmastime is unpacking decorations and ornaments as they always bring back happy memories and it’s fun for my husband and I to remember when and where we got something. In the almost four years we’ve been married we buy Christmas tree ornaments as souvenirs when we travel. Definitely our favorites are the ones we got in the Netherlands. But who doesn’t also love sombrero Santa from Mexico? and the ice skate gotten to commemorate the winter we learned to ice skate together? Ohhh, I can’t wait to see them again!!

The cookie baking has already begun (see: cookie party) and the decorating as well. last year I bought some fake pine cones and clusters of red berries and I put them into a simply green live wreath which I’ve hung over my mantle. Very pretty. Two exciting new decorating things this year: an idea from Better Homes & Gardens–take clear glass ornaments (available very cheaply at Michael’s) and put things in them. I put little pieces of pine tree and pine cones in mine. I then strung them on a ribbon which I swagged (can that be a verb?) across a doorway. I think the balls would also look very pretty piled in a trifle dish or other bowl or container. There are an endless number of things you could stuff in the balls-holly berries and leaves, glitter, etc. I think the natural things would look best.

I also actually made a project from BH&G (I think). A wreath made with photos. I think it looks super (though I’m not quite satisfied with my hanging ribbon) and I used my hot glue gun for quick and easy adhering. Although I did follow the directions my styrofoam wreath form seemed too wide and I had to cover it with red felt. Which turned into a big mess but no one will see the back, right? I’m looking forward to this being something I treasure every year.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

