RSS Feed

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Posted on

heartswreath.jpgI feel like now that we have a young child who is old enough to enjoy holidays, it’s time to throw ourselves fully into decorating and crafts and such that pertain to the holiday. With that in mind, I made this felt heart wreath. I’ve been wanting to make a series of felt wreaths modeled on my favorite Christmas decoration (which was purchased, not made.) I decided to start with a less ambitious Valentine’s Day one, which would just consist of heart shapes, to sort of work out the process.

I cut two rings of red felt and sewed the outer edges together. Then i tucked in a cardboard ring I’d cut out of a box and hand sewed the inner ring. The end wreath shape was smaller than I’d anticipated. Oh, and I also sewed in a red loop of felt to be a hanger. heartsclose.jpgThen I hot glued different heart shapes around the ring and hot glued on some sequins too. Had I thought it out better I would have done a different sequin arrangement, but oh well. I’m sure my kids will enjoy seeing it two weeks out of ever year.

I also painted a frame white and stamped (with paint) heart shapes rather roughly about it and put a picture of the two kids together into it to give my husband for his work desk.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. This is super-cute! And really, a household can’t have too many seasonal felt wreaths, can it? Are you going to make one for St. Patrick’s day next?

    Reply
  2. For my next one I’m thinking of trying to make it look sort of like hydrangeas. I bought felts in varying shades of blue/purple.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

