RSS Feed

Accordionated Mini Photo-Book

Posted on

Some time ago I bought a little mini Kolo photo book, intended for my husband’s Christmas stocking. I forgot all about it until I came across it recently and decided to give it to him for Valentine’s Day. It has a cutout on the front and I glued a large butterfly sequin there instead of putting a photo in it and put mini pictures of the kids on all the pages. Very lovely. Then I was so charmed by the teeny tiny pictures (and so pleased with figuring out how to do it) that I decided to make a book of my own to give to my mom for Valentine’s Day. Of course it’s not as nice as the Kolo book, but I do like it and was able to quickly do it yesterday morning. And of course she was thrilled.

006.jpg

Here’s how I did it:

For the teeny tiny photos I selected 9 pictures in Picasa and chose to make them a collage, picture grid style. When I printed on my 4×6 photo paper I opted for “shrink to fit.”

I took two different colors cardstock and laid them on top of each other, then cut a long strip from them and glued the two strips together. Then I folded it back and forth. Next I cut a slightly bigger strip to be the cover. I glued one end of the folded piece to one side of the cover. When I folded the cover around I used decorative scissors to cut the edge.005.jpg

To decorate and make a closure I just used a hole punch and tied ribbons to either end.

I glued a little picture onto each section using the hot glue gun (I used Elmer’s for the Kolo book and it was just fine, it’s just that I was in a hurry, hence the hot glue). I glued a snowflake sequin on the cover and then let the whole thing dry while expanded before closing it up.

One thing that made this (and some Valentine’s Day card making) easy was finally finding my bone folder and using that. I got it in library school at a book repair workshop and I can assure I have only ever used it for making cards and crafts. It really is a great tool.

003.jpg

I am eager to make more of these little books!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. This turned out SO fantastically! You should be super-proud of it — what a wonderful Valentine gift for your mom!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

