RSS Feed

Happy Easter!

Posted on

What a beautiful spring day we had yesterday for Easter.  I was happy to be hosting dinner at our house-third time in a month that we got to use our fancy tablecloth and china and silver.  Plus, I liked getting the house super clean and making it lovely with a fire and flowers and nice music and so on.  I think everything turned out beautifully and was pretty stress free, too.  I was able to make most everything the day before, so Sunday was just a matter of making rolls and popping things into the oven.  The menu was practically taken straight from the Easter menu in this month’s Everyday Food.  I made a spinach quiche, a seafood quiche, bought a spiral sliced ham, and made a Lemon Ginger Bundt Cake.  The spinach quiche was meant to be spinach-gruyere, but imagine my surprise to open up my hunk of gruyere I’d bought and realize that it was in fact a smoked gouda. And not just any smoked gouda, but apparently a horseradish one.  It tasted pretty spicy so I did half that and half swiss and the result was great.  For the seafood quiche I followed the same recipe using all swiss, shrimp, and crabmeat.  I made the little honey-oat rolls I’ve made before.  I think they turn out really well, but seem dry the next day. Fortunately there was only one left over.  The bundt cake was basically a pound cake flavored with lemon zest, fresh lemon juice, and crystallized ginger.  Very fresh and zingy tasting.  This menu was pretty butter-tastic, though.  Between that and the Easter candy I feel the dieting we’ve been doing for the past few weeks has all been undone.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Very yummy menu Sarah. We certainly enjoyed our Easter meal. I could have eaten ham and spinach quiche until I exploded but actually did not feel my usual holiday stuffed. Thank-you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

