RSS Feed

The Gardening Begins….Slowly

Posted on

I like to think that I love gardening, but the truth is I really just love the end result of gardening. I like seeing things growing about my house, tasting my own herbs, cutting my own flowers, and making a happy place for birds and bugs and such. But all the work it takes to create such things? I don’t like that so much. And since the arrival of our kids we have not been very good gardeners at all. (Thank goodness for the CSA farm!) But we do still like doing what we can and we like to plant bulbs and we are very excited to get Clark excited for gardening. He has picked out his own tools and a very tacky turtle statue he absolutely had to have from Lowe’s. He sowed some marigold seeds and planted some pansies and it will be a true miracle if anything grows/survives in his little plot of dirt.

As for ourselves we’ve decided to till a new garden area and take the fenced previous garden area and use it for…chickens!! Unlike our friends over at IPB Living who’ve managed to prepare their earth, start plants indoors and tenderly care for them, and delicately transplant seedlings, we’ve bought some seeds and tilled up some grassy lawn which will no doubt mean a constant battle with weeds (which we will lose.) However, we feel happy about it and in the meantime are thrilled when we look about at what’s in the garden now: peonies emerging, hyacinths and daffodils blooming, tulips emerging, and my favorite spring thing that makes me laugh–when we first moved here I planted grape hyacinths and tete a tete daffodils in a row up our front walk. I envisioned lovely alternating bright purple and yellow. Well, when they came up I couldn’t believe what a hilarious mistake I’d made. The are so miniscule as to barely be seen even when you are standing next to them, much less from the road or front door. But every year they come up and every year I laugh at them. Here is a picture of one of the larger ones next to my sneaker for scale.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

8 responses »

  1. You guys were our original garden inspiration! I love (and covet) all the beautiful flowers that grow all around your yard! And I’m going to be CRAZY jealous of your chickens, of course.

    Reply
  2. Oh, and needless to say, I can’t wait to see how Farmer Clark’s efforts turn out. 😀

    Reply
  3. You are too kind. I really do like gardening I just am no good at the part where you have to oh, water and weed the garden.

    Reply
  4. Yeah, the weeding is something I could never do. I’m okay with watering. I’m still amazed that we’ve stuck with our garden, but doing the raised bed thing really cuts back on, like, 95% of the weeds. So on the front end it’s a lot more work, but over the lifespan of the garden, it’s way less in the long run. We have a friend from IPB who just put in his own raised-bed garden, and even installed his own irrigation system. I was like, “Wow! You’re such a go-getter!” and he explained that actually, he knows he’s too lazy to water, so it was the only way his garden would ever be a success. Heh.

    Reply
  5. I’m soooooooooooooooooo jealous of your future chickens! SO JEALOUS!

    And yeah, the garden is a lot easier when you take the weeds away by using raised beds. You can buy them from Gardener’s Supply, which would cut down on a lot of the annoying work we did.

    I hope that Clark’s flowers turn out perfect!

    Reply
  6. Do we get eggs from the chickens?

    Reply
  7. Hopefully we will have more eggs than we know what to do with! (That’s the way it was when I was a kid.) And then it’s lemon curd and angel food cakes for all!

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Happy Easter « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

