RSS Feed

Welcome Back, Big Green Froggie!

Posted on

Garden status is thus:

Clark’s garden has been transformed into half mud puddle, which he gleefully put his hands, feet, and bare bottom in. A couple pansies valiantly cling to life.

Bursting into bloom are daffodils, and just yesterday a few tulips-red and yellow striped ones, and a pink one. Last year’s newly planted plum tree is blooming with lovely white flowers, the Japanese maple’s leaves are practically ready to unfurl, the peonies literally grow inches each night, they hyacinths are ridiculously fragrant.

Coming back? Happily many of the perennials I planted last year I see poking up-phlox, coral bells, spiderwort, and I forget what else.

One of the exciting things coming into greenness again is our pond. The daylilies around it are at least 6 inches high already and the hosta are sending up alien like purple nubs in the ground. In the pond red lily pads are making their way to the surface. The cattails are sending up straight and tall pale green shoots and a couple other plants I forget the names also have lots of nice new green growth. And best of all? Our froggie survived the winter and emerged! Good grief but he is humongous. When I first saw him I let out a little “eek!”. After not seeing him all winter I’d forgotten just how big he is. The fish are also waking up, though one of them (Japan, so named because he is white with a large red circle on his back) keeps floating. Yet, when we go to scoop him up and dispose of him he swims away. He is either the world’s slowest die-er or the fish equivalent of a possum.

In planning news we decided to finally jump on board and make raised beds for our vegetable garden. Hopefully that will happen this weekend. Also, I just got a copy of Storey’s Guide to Raising Chickens. I can’t wait for our coop to be built and to get our chickens in !!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. This is the MOST exciting post! I’m impressed that Clark’s garden still has some gardeny elements hanging on — what’s the over/under for how long that keeps up? The catalog of Spring blooming is my favorite thing about having a yard, and you have such an impressive array of things to be excited about!

    I’m also psyched that you’re putting in raised veggie beds, except your garden is probably going to be better than ours, and I’ll be bitterly jealoustotally happy for you. đŸ˜›

    I can almost TASTE those fresh eggs now.

    Reply
  2. I’m SO EXCITED you’re doing raised bed! SO EXCITED! I can’t wait to see them and see the pond coming back to life! And I really can’t wait to see your thriving chicken farm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

