RSS Feed

Garden Status on April 21

Posted on

My  friends told me about this great blog-May Dreams Gardens, which invites people on the 15th of each month to photograph what’s blooming and post it.  Well, it’s not the 15th but  I love the idea and I’ll definitely be on board next month.  In the meantime, I will  photograph my garden from time to time and track its progress here.

The peony has gotten this tall in about two weeks. It literally seems to grow inches every night. This is a bush that we planted a couple years ago. There are three other peonies near it, which all come from one that we dug up from another location in our yard. I wouldn’t mind getting some more because I love the big heavy flowers in all the colors they come in. However, I doubt I’ll be putting in seven hundred and seventy plants, as Martha Stewart did! I just read about it in this month’s MS Living.

This is a Russian Sage I planted last year with a bunch of other perennials I got on the cheap from Lowe’s. The pricier Spring Hill plants I ordered when we first moved in 4 1/2 years ago never came to much (except the Shasta daisies), but I wanted to try again with these. I wasn’t sure what to do with them over the winter and left them. Consequently it appeared we had tall dead sticks in our front garden. Should I have cut them down??? There is new growth both on the old dead looking stuff and at the ground.

Here are a couple pictures of the pond. In this first one you’ll see that the lily pads from a container at the bottom of the pond have made their way to the surface. On the right is a container on a sort of shelf. I believe this is a water forget-me-not and will have lovely little blue flowers on it. However, this container is the frog’s favorite place to sit and you’ll see that he has already squashed the center of the plant. It’s like a frog La-Z-Boy.

On the other side of the pond is a container of giant pennywort and another plant that we completely forget what it is. At any rate they are growing nice and green and the pond is coming to life nicely. (Except Japan who continues to mock us by floating and then swimming away.)

This tulip lives in utter isolation. It is a single flower and I don’t even know if we planted it or not. But I love it because these are the kind of tulips we had at our house when I was growing up. Thus, I think of the red with yellow middle as the sort of “standard” tulip.

Here is one of the tulips I know I planted. I love these double frilly kind–Angelique are my favorite. I used to have many of them but unlike the lovely beds of spring bulbs you see ever expanding at other people’s houses, ours seem to dwindle over the years. Careless spades, digging dogs, hungry squirrels? Who knows.

I’m crazy for the pink tulips and here are a few of the remaining ones from the many we used to have.

And why shouldn’t I have red and yellow striped tulips amongst my delicate pink?

Here is the status of Clark’s seeds that he planted in plastic drink cups at storytime. They mock me as they are significantly better than the seeds I’ve planted directly in the ground. His cups have green beans, sunflowers, and zinnia in them. We’ll be planting them into our raised beds I believe.

Ahhh, the daffodils….. We have these in various places. I’m thrilled with how many we have this year and hope to plant even more this fall so that eventually we have great swathes of them. I love these little groups right here with the dainty middles.

This is the row we planted this past fall at the bottom of our lawn. Paul tilled it and then put in a ton of bulbs. We sort of hoped grass would just naturally grow over it, but it didn’t. Also many bulbs seemed to come to the surface, either by squirrel or careless planting we don’t know. (the squirrels are ridiculous about eating our bulbs. they dug up and ate every single one we planted around our mailbox.) Regardless, the end result is a cheerful row of bright yellow gently waving around in the breeze. There are quite a few different varieties, some very dainty, some bigger.

Here is one sort of all by itself that is a double petal type bloom.

I hope to post more as things bloom–both for fun to share garden stuff with our friends, but also to have a handy record for the upcoming gardening year!!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. This pictures are lovely, Sarah! I’m jealous of your peonies! I wish we still had some here. And we can’t have tulips because of the deer, so I’m jealous of those, too!

    Reply
  2. What gorgeous flowers! I especially love those frilly, double pink tulips. Those are exquisite! I don’t think I’ve ever seen them in bloom in person. And Clark really is quite the farmer, isn’t he? Those plants are outrageous! 😀

    All of these pictures are just delightful — this was such a surprisingly fun project for us to do at Maple Hoo, the photocataloging what’s in bloom, and it was super fun to get to tour your grounds, including the pond!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

