RSS Feed

Lovely lovely lilacs

Posted on

I love lilacs.  We had two beautiful big lilac trees at my house growing up and every morning when I walked past them I would inhale deeply. The smell is just so gorgeous and I think the flowers are beautiful and old fashioned. Had I gotten married in the spring they would have been my bridal bouquet.  Now that I’ve established my love for this heralder of spring, let me tell you about the lilacs at our house.

When we moved into our house 4 1/2 years ago I was thrilled to see that a long line of lilac trees forms a border between our property and our neighbors (on the other side forsythia forms the border-how lovely is all that?).  We moved in August, so I had quite a while to wait to see my lilacs.  Can you imagine my utter disappointment to discover that the flowers are not lavender but are white?! What’s worse is that every year I forget and every year am disappointed.  They are just not as fragrant as the lavender ones, but still are pretty.  I’m sitting here and thinking, “why don’t I go plant some lavender ones??”

Two years ago my friend Denise gave me an awesome birthday present (my birthday was a few days ago, so this was very seasonally appropriate)–a little lilac tree.  I chose a nice spot in the front yard and imagined it someday nice and large.  The variety is something-or-other-Canada.  Anyway, last year I was sure it was dead but I left it. This year it still appears to be alive and even has some tiny flower buds on it! But…check out the size of them. The biggest cluster is the length of pinky fingernail. How on earth can I get this little tree to grow bigger?? It’s about a foot and a half tall presently, which I believe is how big it was when it arrived.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Sarah, you were right — this is hilarious! I mean, hilariously sad, of course. What is the POINT of white lilacs if they’re not just being an accent for purple ones? Whoever planted those on your property just wasn’t thinking at all. And that’s DOUBLY sad that your new little lilac isn’t filling in! What a disaster! 😛

    Reply
  2. HAHAHAHA! Such a puny little tree! Oh, the poor thing! I’m sure if you give it time it will grow big and strong and fragrant and stunning! (Or it’s some kind of freak pygmy lilac.)

    I’m so sorry you discovered your lilacs are white! That’s such a disappointment. When I was a kid we had a little grove of mature, purple lilacs. They made the greatest fort ever. I remember thinking the leaves were the softest, prettiest leaves on Earth.

    Reply
  3. It is clear to me that I must plant some purple lilacs so that I am not disappointed for the next 50 springs. I should also plant another tree from the yard of my childhood. It was right next to the lilac and had the most aromatic perfume ever. I THINK it was a mock orange, but am not certain. we also had a spectacular row of hydrangea trees which hummed noisily in the summer from bees, were the most frangrant things ever, and yielded enormous heavy blooms which went from pale green to whitest white and eventually tinged faint pink to deep rose.

    Reply
  4. I adore hydrangeas. If you plant a bank of those, I’ll be buzzing around in them right there with the bees! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

