RSS Feed

A Raised Garden Bed!

Posted on

Vegetable bed #1 is complete! Paul handily built it and it even has posts dug into the ground to anchor it. The bottom is lined with mesh. Much to the dog’s and Clark’s excitement we had a giant pile of dirt delivered yesterday and this morning were able to shovel it all into the first bed. We still need to put up fencing before anything goes in (oh I hope it’s not too late for our seeds!)

The bed holds so much promise, just looking at it I know it is bound to grow wonderful things for us. To help it along I got a big wheelbarrow full of horse poop from our neighbor and we dumped it in first. I’m pretty sure horse manure is supposed to be left to rot or decompose or something for a while first, but we lay it right down first with a lot of dirt on top and it can decompose down there.

In other exciting garden news this morning we also ate ASPARAGUS from our own garden!! We put this in two years ago hoping and hoping it would take (my grandmother assured us it would-she and my grandfather were great gardeners and had an asparagus bed that yielded a big crop for many many years). Well, there are weeds all over where this asparagus bed is and it’s mostly been left to itself (see? We’re all full of vision, but not so much on the follow through), so the “crop” as it were was only three stalks. But you know what? We snapped them off and ate them right then and there and they tasted fresh and green and asparagussy and it was awesome. I hope some more grow next year!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Whoa! Look at that bed! It looks GREAT! How exciting! I can’t wait to see it full of all kinds of produce. Also, that’s so cool that you finally got asparagus from your yard!

    Reply
  2. WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! Look at those farmers! And look at that awesome vegetable bed! How exciting!!

    And I am TOTALLY humbled by your asparagus crop. I’m so glad it was delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

