RSS Feed

After a spring rain

Posted on

First, I have to give an enormous thank you to Liz and Eleanor. After taking literally 5000 photos on my camera (OK, I believe this total is actually over the course of two cameras and also 2 3/4 years) they told me about a setting on my camera that will allow me to take the close up pictures I’ve been yearning for. In my defense, I do take awesome pictures of my kids and people-it’s just these nature pictures I’ve been having trouble with. Apparently had I read the instruction manual I would have known about this easy setting. So this morning I ran outside and took a whole bunch of pictures and am delighted with the results. First of all, look at the unfurling hosta (planted around the pond.)

Then, this peony bud. I can’t wait for them to bloom. I got my supports on good and early this year so they will hopefully not end up on the ground.

I think this pink and green striped tulip is so pretty. Must plant more of them. In fact, as I walked around the yard yesterday I realized we have lots of individual plants we like, but for better visual impact we really need to plant more of each kind. Since we haven’t been we have 3 lovely black/purple tulips here, 2 pink and green striped tulips here, one columbine over here, etc., etc. More groupings in the fall!

Here is a lone tulip by the mailbox.  In our defense we planted lots of tulip bulbs around the mailbox and the evil squirrels dug up all except this one.

We have had two very large and very well producing strawberry beds for at least two years now. This year there are very few plants remaining, which I understand is normal, that they don’t last forever.  However, in our front flower garden we seem to have a whole bunch of volunteer strawberry plants growing.  I love to look at each white flower and think that it will soon be a berry.

My pansies are lasting better than ever before.

The white lilacs continue to be pretty and I’m enjoying them inside as well.

By the way, it was pointed out to me that perhaps what I really like is not so much gardening, as it is plants and flowers. This is probably true. I am not a great gardener and I cannot give it the time and attention I want to (but assume as my kids get older this will change), but I do absolutely adore looking at flowers and my yard and do take care to make it pretty. And, as the garden beds are finished I’m excited for us to put our vegetable seeds in today and transplant Clark’s seedlings (which are monstrous.)

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. These pictures look SO GREAT! Also, the new banner is awesome!

    Reply
  2. Hm. Now your pictures are way awesomer than ours. We never should have showed you how to do this!!! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

