RSS Feed

Garden Bloggers Bloom Day

Posted on

I love this idea of seeing what is blooming in people’s gardens all around the country on a single given day. Within my own town I know there is quite a bit of variety (we joke that we live in a micro-climate), so I’m curious to see what everyone else posts today. I found out about Garden Bloggers Bloom Day last month a few days too late to participate in April’s day and I’ve been looking forward to May’s day ever since. So, here’s what blooming at our house today, May 15, 2008, an overcast day with a predicted high of 72.

Our rhododendron is coming into bloom, with about 1/3 of the buds opened. Last year it was stricken with something that made quite a bit of it die, so we had to do some pruning and its shape is not as full as one might like, but it is still quite large.

This is the iris which is in the pond. There are just a few buds this far along and I can’t wait to see them blue. There is also a large clump of iris (I think “water iris”) next to the pond, but planted in the soil. It has many buds but is probably still several days away from blooming. The Siberian iris has several buds (which I think look like fish) but definitely not every plant is going to flower. That’s ok–I like the foliage and the bulbs (bulbs?) were gotten from free from a wheelbarrow at our down the road farm and garden center.

This is a big beautiful white azalea. We have some smaller spindly azaleas in pink and red that I suppose the previous owner thought were good foundation plantings, but they really didn’t do well. I can’t bring myself to remove them though because no matter how spindly it’s still nice to see the color.

This is, I think, a weed. But I don’t pull it up because I love the orange color. I have no idea what it is.

This is the columbine I planted last year. I’m not sure, but it may have spread because there is a smaller non-blooming plant with the same leaves next to it. I hope it spreads because that would be a very nice thing to see under my birch tree.

Here is a planter of pansies, doing very nicely.

Here is a close-up of a bright pink dianthus. I believe I originally planted quite a bit of this our first or second year here, but now there is this one lone plant. Again, I won’t pull it up because I like the color. Instead I am going to work on adding more perennials to this front bed.

One of our pine trees has these beautiful baby pine cones “blooming” on the ends of its branches.

And here is the allium finally in full bloom.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

12 responses »

  1. Oooh, what lovely photos! I love the one of the pinecone and it’s so great to finally see the allium all the way bloomed! The dianthus is really cool looking; I don’t think I’ve ever seen one before.

    I just learned the other day that columbines reseed themselves a lot, but that the baby columbines aren’t always going to be the same color as the parents. It’ll be exciting to see what comes up next year!

    I cannot wait to go home and put together IPB Living’s Bloom Day post! This is so much fun!

    Reply
  2. Super photos! I especially love the azalea and rhodie and pansies. New Jersey gardening must be good for them. I too love this monthly day to visit so many more gardens.

    Reply
  3. What gorgeous pictures! And you’ve got so many different colors and textures there! I love the pine cone — how clever of you to include it. I’m also especially excited to see the alliums doing their thing, after the way you documented the lead-up to it.

    Rhododendrons are my very favorite; ours isn’t blooming quite yet, so it’s nice to see a picture of yours!

    Reply
  4. I love the name of your blog – we say that all the time.
    Anyway, your pinecone is so cool. I’ve never seen one like that.
    And I love the color of your columbine. Mine are all light purpley or white. It’s nice to see a vibrant one.

    Reply
  5. Thanks Cindy! I thought the pinecones were so neat when I noticed them the other day. They are prickly, but sort of soft too.

    Reply
  6. You must have just the right conditions for the rhododendrons, they look so full of bloom. And I’ll echo what the others wrote, those baby pine cones are neat looking.

    Thanks for joining in for bloom day.

    Reply
  7. I love the look of your site…it inspires me to explore the possibilities in WordPress (I am just using Kubrick). I fell for that pine tree with the pink new growth in a magazine photo long ago, but have never seen it in the trade. Do you happen to know its botanical name? I just found another pine on my list: ‘Thunderhead’, but it is still a baby. When it comes into its own, I will post a photo.

    Reply
  8. Bloom Day has been so much fun. I really loved “meeting” other people and seeing each others’ gardens. Thanks Carol!
    Ricki, thanks too. I don’t know the name of the pine tree. It’s one of those ones with sort of curving up branches.

    Reply
  9. Margaret Simpson

    Sarah, loved Blooms Day but am overwhelmed by all I see. The compost link was interesting on Carol’s May Blooms site. Sooooo much info. I think with Iris the tubers are called rhizomes.

    Reply
  10. ahh, rhizomes. I couldn’t quite remember it. Reading about Caro’s compost inspired me to open up our tumbling composter, which we’d sort of given up on. And what do you know? It was filled with lovely dark compost! So now we’re going to spread it on our vegetable bed and do it again.

    Reply
  11. Ok, that is officially the cutest pinecone I have ever seen.

    Reply
  12. Pingback: Glitter. « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

