RSS Feed

Beautiful, beautiful May

Posted on

I seem to have a whole bunch of little things to say today involving our garden, baking, and the general verdant lushness that seems to have encompassed our neck of the woods.

First, our rhodie. It is in full bloom and absolutely gorgeous. Like many of the things I love in our yard, we really can’t take credit for it as it was here when we moved in. (Though we do maintain it, I suppose.) The color is so vibrant that just now when I went outside at 8:30pm in the dim light of sunset it appeared to be glowing.

All day it was humming as bumblebees methodically went into first one blossom and then another. One bee I saw was just covered in pollen.

Moving on to our pond…Now this we actually can take credit for. It was Paul’s pet project and though I laughed when he came home with the pond mold I now love our pond and adore looking at it and am so pleased with how well the plants are doing in it. It has two iris varieties, one in the water and one outside the water. Both are now blooming.

Here’s a picture I took from our backsteps. I turned around and my field of vision was three stripes of brilliant color:

And now, on to baking. It’s been a while since I’ve baked just for fun since we’ve been trying to lose weight. This is a recipe from this month’s Everyday Food. I like bar cookies so was excited to try these Oatmeal Raisin ones. Basically they are oatmeal cookies pressed into an 8×8 pan. (In this case I didn’t quite have enough oatmeal so they’ve got a 1/4 cup of Hodgson Mills multigrain cereal in it. Mmm…flaxy.) They are really good but I have to say a little unsettling. Since they taste like my regular oatmeal cookie recipe biting into a piece that is a thick as a bar cookie, and as dense, makes it seem like you’re eating a big spoonful of the dough.

Speaking of eating, here is Tabitha with a mouthful of pansy.

The peonies have finally begun to open! Here is the bud that I’ve been following. Today it looks like a tulip.

To my surprise I saw that one of the other buds had opened already.

I’ll leave you with this picture of a teeny tiny weed I noticed while I was lying in the grass today.

Isn’t it so charming? It’s just the best time of year for looking around seeing such bright colors and so much beauty. I hope my next post will be about sewing as I’ve recently come across some fabrics I bought two years ago, but I just can’t seem to stop my self photographing our blooms every day!!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. First of all, that picture of Tabitha could not be cuter! That’s FANTASTIC!

    Second, all of your blooms are so gorgeous! I had no idea you had such a giant rhododendron (if you know what I mean) — I’m going to have to look for it next time we’re over at your place! The pond also looks amazing, and those iris pictures are so lovely. And the peonies are, of course, ridiculously beautiful — I’m so glad you’ve been documenting them for us.

    I’m especially impressed at the bee picture; I guess they really are slow and lazy, aren’t they? 😛

    Reply
  2. You have such a lovely garden – wonderful pictures! Tabitha is just too cute and what a wonderful name too! And as for the peonies, your pictures have rendered me so impatient – mine aren’t out yet, even though we have had days and days with lots of sunshine – can’t wait

    Reply
  3. I love your blog! Thank you for adding me to your blogroll, I just added you to mine as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

