RSS Feed

Wall Art Clips

Posted on

One of my very favorite catalogs is Land of Nod. I love most everything in it and love the artwork and lamps especially. I saw this in the catalog the other day and thought, “I could make that.” So I did. It was ridiculously easy. I bought plain shapes at Michaels and just painted them. [The thing about Michaels and the surge in interest in crafts is that on the one hand it’s so easy now to get things to help you make stuff on your own. But the flip side of that is, it’s so easy and anyone can do it and they do half the work for you. I could have bought these little wooden shapes already painted. And what’s the point in that??] I hot glued clothespins to the back and then strung them on some acrylic craft cord. A dab of hot glue (or I could have melted the cord with a match) kept each one in place so that it wouldn’t slide along the cord. Thumbtack it to the wall and voila! A nifty place to hang pictures or your kids works of art. I made two, one for Tabitha and one for Clark.

Here are some close-ups of Clark’s critters:

And here is Tabitha’s moon and stars:

Not only was this fun to make (and now I want to make them for everyone I know), consider this: the Land of Nod one was $9.95, whereas each of these shapes cost 25 cents! I had paint and hot glue and clothespins at home. I did buy colored cord ($3), but it wasn’t necessary as I did have yarn and twine and string and stuff at home which I could have used. oooh! Here’s an idea I just had!! Why not make one using the stars and little birdie shapes and make it be for Christmas? It could be a nice thing to display your Christmas cards on? Well there you go. I know what I’m doing in December.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Those are so adorable! They’d be a great baby shower gift, too, wouldn’t they? The painting on them looks great! You’re such a crafty superstar, Sarah!

    Reply
  2. well thanks! I do have a baby shower to go to this weekend and I was considering making one…

    Reply
  3. Look at you, being the crafty genius! This is a REALLY great idea, though, and they look fantastic!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Christmas Crafting « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

