RSS Feed

Heat Day!

Posted on

What a surprise-Paul’s work was cancelled today due to the high temps (97?) and broken air conditioning at work! It was an unexpected holiday for us all.  I’ve been feeling  like the heat has been beating us down and the garden doesn’t even have anything new blooming in it, so it was a nice surprise to see the lilies bloomed today.  The white ones were here when we moved in, and I guess we planted the orange tiger lilies (though really I don’t quite remember this, but they weren’t there last year so I guess we did.):

One of my favorite scents is honeysuckle. Right now it is blooming and fragrant and I can smell it the moment I step out my door.  As you can see it is really an invasive vine covering this poor pine tree.  I love the flowers so much though that I haven’t even considered attempting to remove it.

Paul got to work a little bit more on the …..chicken coop! I cannot wait until we get chickens and have lovely fresh eggs every day.  For people who don’t know me, my dad grew up on a chicken farm (in the 40s and 50s) and at my house we also kept chickens, but just for fun and 4H.  Since Paul and I bought this house we’ve talked about getting chickens and have finally decided to.

In the late afternoon we celebrated the hot summer even more by heading down to the river in town and going swimming! Both kids loved it, though it was a struggle to keep Tabitha from eating the river rocks.

I have ever so many projects still that I want to do, but I can predict right now the gardening and sewing and craft stuff is going to slow down even more than usual as I have some work demands that are picking up.  I know my garden plans are not all going to get done this summer, but that’s ok.  We plan to be here for many many years!

By the way, our summer day ended perfectly with a big thunder and lightning storm and rain! Recommended reading to go with these hot summer thoughts? Elizabeth Enright’s Thimble Summer and of course And Then There Were Five.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

