RSS Feed

Lemon Blueberry Muffins

Posted on

Blueberries are in ripe abundance right now (and New Jersey has great blueberries) and that means one thing to me: lemon blueberry muffins! There are certainly about a million recipes for this pretty common baked good, and I have tons of baking books and magazines, but my very favorite recipe is one I picked up at a very interesting event. Every other year a local operating dairy farm is open for tours and a big sort of festival spotlighting New Jersey’s dairy farmers (in June of course because June is Dairy Month). Our first summer here it was going on very nearby and so we headed off to it. I picked up this recipe card there and have used it ever since:

1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1 1/4 c sugar
1/2 t salt
1 t grated lemon zest
2 eggs
2 c flour
2 t baking powder
1/2 c buttermilk
1 pint blueberries (or, as this card proclaims “Jersey Fresh blueberries”)
1/4 c sugar (I prefer a big coarse sugar for this part)

Cream together the butter, sugar, and salt. Add lemon zest. Beat in eggs, one at a time, mixing until smoother.

Stir together flour and b.p. Add 1/3 dry to the creamed mixture, mix on low speed, add 1/2 the buttermilk, and so on, ending with flour.

Stir the berries in by hand.

Spoon into 12 muffin tins, sprinkle the tops with the 1/4 c sugar, bake in a 375 degree oven for 30 minutes until golden. Allow to cool.

These just always come out great. I freeze them, too.

I didn’t photograph it, but I did make a peach blueberry crisp the other night too, which was heavenly warm with vanilla ice cream. I didn’t have any oatmeal on hand, so I used some maple granola I found in the pantry. I’ve been slacking when it comes to writing about my baking, so I’ll try to be better. So, no pics of the crisp, but here’s a garden photo…

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Those muffins sound heavenly. Once I finish up my raspberry muffins, I’ll have to try those.

    And a Happy Birthday to your little boy. I loved your Train Cake. It would be perfect for my husband – he’s a huge train fan.

    Reply
  2. Sarah, you guys should add some blueberry bushes next year! We don’t get many off our bushes, but the ones we do get are SO GOOD.

    Reply
  3. They look yummy – I can almost taste them – could you send a few over…? 🙂

    Reply
  4. Thanks Astrid!
    Pookie we did plant blueberry bushes and, like all the fruit we plant that hates us, the bushes seem to have died this year 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

