RSS Feed

Bloom Day-July 2008

Posted on

It’s unfortunate that today is Garden Bloggers Bloom Day because I’m in a bit of a funk about our garden and yard. We simply have not had enough rain at all this summer and everything is hot and dried up. Everyone’s yards are just flat out brown and the grass is so crispy it hurts to walk on. The coneflowers which I see other people proclaiming as drought resistant are completely burnt up. We went to a friends house this weekend and their brand new garden was so ridiculously perfect it hurt to look at. Our raised beds, which Paul worked so hard on, are only just now yielding a few beans. I think we just didn’t water everything well enough.

My shasta daisies are a thing of beauty for approximately a week. I’ve been deadheading them and still they seem to turn all brown and burnt and when deadheaded nothing grows back. I stepped outside this morning and this is what I saw!What am I doing wrong!? I see everyone else’s yard with gorgeous clumps of daisies and coneflowers and I can’t seem to get it. Boooooo…. OK, enough being down on myself. Let’s see what we do have (and I’m doing fewer photos because I already posted a whole bunch of the black eyed susans).

Clematis is blooming again.

Here is one of apparently two seeds that grew from a giant container of wildflower seed mix. Two? Really? Yes, just this and it looks like one cosmo. And sadly, this in the mint area and there is not nearly as much mint as usual.

I’m really regretting not doing a big zinnia bed like I had last year. The pretty impatiens I put in its place are just too small and dainty for the area.

Another sad story. What’s with this coreopsis? I planted it two or three years ago and it’s just this lame little thing. I’m really thinking that we might have to turn to Miracle Gro and also our neighbor’s horse manure. At least I’ve been keeping up with weeding, but I’m really discouraged by how stunted and puny everything is.

This is not puny and is vibrant and lovely (it’s new).

The speedwell is doing well by the pond and in the front flower bed. In this pic it’s by the pond (which really has an astonishing amount of greenery around it. So far, though, only the one lily bloomed.)

A little chrysanthemum from autumns past is continuing to return (smaller and smaller each year.) Check out its lovely buds.

So, although I’m feeling pretty sad about my garden I think I need to end the pity party. We do have two big sunflowers which are going to be really cool when they bloom and we do have lovely outdoor space with every so many trees and our bluebird visits us every day (yesterday it hovered like a hummingbird causing much excitement in the kitchen) and we’ve been having fun in the river:

and there were all these tiny little toads hopping around on the ground. Here is one:

And then it got scared and pooped.

p.s. So it’s a few hours later and I’m feeling more optimistic about everything. I was just outside on the front porch having a popsicle with Clark and using my brand new clippers to deadhead the daisies. I was thrilled to see that in fact on stems where I’d earlier deadheaded there were some teeny tiny buds. So it looks like I will have some more!
And, then I admired my hanging basket of pink geraniums which I’ve been extremely conscientiously deadheading since I got it and I noticed that it is just so lush and full with lots of lovely foliage and incoming buds.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

6 responses »

  1. Boo Hoo. I am so sorry about your garden. I hate when there isn’t enough rain and even if you water constantly things just don’t grow right. I can’t wait to see your sunflowers. I had two rows in my garden I was soo excited about and then many of them didn’t even grow, so I planted again, still a lot of bare spots and now, after the deer have visited, there are maybe 5 left, and most of those are so tiny still.
    Little toad is cute but not as cute as Clark. He looks like he is having a blast!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Cindy! I’m feeling a little better about the garden now,and I do think the sunflowers will be pretty cool. Why? Because they were grown from seed at storytime (!) and when transplanted they flopped over. So, the heads of the flowers are going to be really huge, but the stems never got upright so they are no more than six inches off the ground!

    Reply
  3. Sarah – it has been dry here too, but now we’re expecting quite a lot of rain the next week! We already had some, and the grass is not as yellow as it were. My flowers have been pretty good, though, they just withered quickly. Here we have worried more about the new trees – mostly the ones we planted at Ronja’s and Frida’s births – they’re still a bit sensitive. But what I wanted to say, is that I love the way you portray what is there, and the way you describe it. Regardless of the drought. I love the pooping toad and your geraniums, and to me it sounds like you’re having a wonderful summer! šŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Astrid, that is so charming that you planted trees for each of your children. We talked about doing that as well. I think we were discouraged when, for our first wedding anniversary (paper) I gave Paul a dogwood tree. I envisioned it growing big and beautiful over the years as a lovely symbol of our marriage. It died and we had to dig it up and throw it away!! Eek, good thing we didn’t read into that. šŸ™‚
    Thanks for your nice comments!

    Reply
  5. Happy bloom day, a few days late. I know that feeling when you don’t get enough rain and can’t seem to keep the garden from drying up. but you still have some great blooms.

    Reply
  6. Sarah – it’s funny you should say that – we actually considered that possibility… It wouldn’t look good if the trees that we planted as parallels to our children went and died. We ended up deciding that we had to give the beautiful idea a try! šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

