RSS Feed

Jersey Fresh

Posted on

In case you didn’t know, New Jersey has incredible peaches, blueberries, tomatoes, and corn.  Right now blueberries and peaches are at their peak and we are buying lots of it.  The other day I made a blueberry-peach crisp, then I made the lemon blueberry muffins, and today I made homemade peach ice cream. (Next up? a pavlova).  It was a pretty standard recipe from my new ice cream cookbook.  I just ate a bowl of it sitting on the back patio looking at over the fields and drinking in how lovely it smells, beautiful the view is, and what a great summer evening it is.

Clark couldn’t wait to try it and ate his directly from the ice cream maker (when it is still fairly soft.)

A day late for bloom day I realized that we had this hydrangea blooming.  I’m thinking of attempting to transplant it because where it is it’s hidden by junky weeds and this is the first year I’ve ever seen these pretty colors.  I’d like it to stand out a bit more and figure we have very little to lose if it doesn’t work out.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. The ice cream looks amazing! And it’s so beautifully styled! What a perfect summer treat.

    Reply
  2. Fresh peach ice cream – that is heaven in a bowl!

    Reply
  3. That ice cream looks fantastic – I didn’t know you had peaches over there! Is it lemon balm on top? Clark and I understand each other! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

