RSS Feed

6 responses »

  1. That’s great that Clark grew a sunflower all by himself. And I love how tall those one at the farm are.
    There’s nothing like cooking with fresh picked veggies – your pasta sounds so yum!

    Reply
  2. What beautiful pictures! The sunflowers are SO gorgeous!

    And I can’t get enough of our Ramapos. We had BLTs with ours twice in four days, as well as tossing the diced tomatoes raw (with olive oil, basil and garlic) over pasta. I’m glad you found a way to enjoy them — your sauce sounds delicious!

    Reply
  3. I can’t believe the Ramapos have not only lived up to the hype but they’ve also blown all the hype out of the water. Those tomatoes are AMAZING. I’m jealous you guys are growing them this year. While our Black Plums are awesome, I wish I could magically change all the San Marzanos into Ramapos.

    And congratulations to Clark on the sunflower!

    Reply
  4. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of anyone not liking raw tomatoes – which makes you quite unique. I LOVE raw tomatoes, so I find it a bit hard to relate to. But then again, I don’t like nougat – most people find that strange. 🙂 Those sunflowers are just really tough guys, aren’t they? Ronja brought two home from kindergarten, and one of them broke. I leaned it towards a stone, and it healed itself. Not blooming yet, though. Clark’s sunflower is beautiful – as are the big ones! 🙂

    Reply
  5. welcome back, Astrid! This week I got 8 lbs of regular tomatoes and 5 lbs of heirloom tomatoes. Plus a bunch of cherry tomatoes. That’s a lot of tomatoes for someone who doesn’t like them raw. I WANT to like those gorgeous yellow ones sliced with fresh basil and mozzarella, I WANT to pop those little cherry tomatoes into my mouth like candy, but it just tastes revolting to me! (I will make exceptions for salsa and bruschetta, though)

    Reply
  6. Margaret Simpson

    I wonder if there is a genetic predisposition to having raw tomato hatred or rather something that just makes it taste so yucky to you? Your Mom did not like sauce on her pizza (of course thats cooked blowing my theory) and when Grandpa made them he always left two slices with the sauce carefully outlined around them and just cheese put on. But you like sauce and your fondness for FRESH salsa is highly suspicious I must say.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

