RSS Feed

Belated Garden Bloggers Bloom Day-August 2008

Posted on

I cheerfully went out Friday morning to take pictures of my blooms. Now it’s Sunday night and I’m only just getting around to posting them.  And, looking at them, the one flower I really wanted to show came out blurry. So, I’ll just say my purple asters with the yellow centers have started to bloom. A sign of early early fall!

One thing I’m disappointed about this year is the lack of morning glories, zinnias, and cosmos I have.  In years past I have had such an abundance of these that they were literally spilling over everywhere. So cheerful and pretty.  This year I have literally one morning glory in front, one in back, about 4 zinnias, and two cosmos. It’s pitiful. But I present here close-ups of the blooms, so you can just pretend they are in abundance.

Morning glory–heavenly blue, my favorite

i keep forgetting the name of this. I love the way it’s like half a rainbow.

a puffy button of a zinnia

Usually at this point in the summer I feel like my garden is just coming into its own.  But this year the combination of high temps and no rain, followed by excessive rain, has left me just feeling a little tired of my things.  Some of my container plantings are already done!  The rain has been great for our weeds, which all of a sudden threaten to take over the foundation of the house (and I’m barred from weeding them because when I did so a month and a half ago I got a wicked case of poison ivy). There’s still plenty of color around and because of our late start in planting our vegetables they are just now doing really well–we harvested and ate our first delicious kohlrabi a few days ago!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. I love the morning glory, even if there’s just one – what a beautiful colour! The nameless ones are gorgeous too! We have lots of stuff blooming for the second time at the moment, which must be because the summer started so early with really high temperatures. You can’t really control your garden, can you… That’s part of the charm, I guess!

    Reply
  2. Astrid makes a good point — maybe the fun of gardening is that it’s never the same twice? Wait, no… “fun” might not be the word I’m looking for. 😀

    I love the flowers you got pictures of! The nameless one is especially gorgeous.

    Reply
  3. I think your nameless one is Lantana. It’s a favorite of mine as well. I love the multi-colored blooms. Mine, however did not seem to thrive this year and I don’t know why.
    I love the intense blue of the morning glory as well.

    Reply
  4. Oh, aren’t close-ups wonderful? Much easier to edit out the stuff we don’t want to look at and zero in on the good.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

