RSS Feed

At last, I sew.

Posted on

I’ve just been itching to do so many projects lately, and I finally had my chance last week. I bought a couple yards of fleece and some ribbon, and got to poncho making. (Ponchos? Yes, ponchos. That same garment we wore in the 70s. Except, for a baby it’s adorable and just right for when you go for a walk on a fall day and you just want a nice cozy layer to tuck around her in a stroller.)

My “pattern” (notes jotted down on how a friend’s mother had crocheted one for her daughter) was basically two rectangles folded over and then stitched together.

The first one I made out of a lovely dark purple. I cut and folded my rectangles and then stitched them together with overlapping edges, then sewed the ribbon on top of that. Then I realized I should have hemmed the raw edges, so I had to roll and sew down the fleece in a sort of difficult way. Because of this when I made a second one later in the week I hemmed all around first. The downside to this was I ended up having the section where the two pieces were to attach be quite bulky and difficult to sew with the machine.  Anyway, the first one I did a blanket stitch all around the edge in a nice contrasting yellow. This was for Tabitha and the neckhole is kind of big. The second one I made I made a smaller neckhole since it was for a smaller baby.  I’m sure by the time I make my fifth one I’ll have this down pat, but in the meantime I feel all jazzed up and eager to do at least something each week. (I also made a drawstring bag out of Thomas the Tank Engine fabric for Clark to put his trains in when we go places, as well as a Thomas pillow.) For these ponchos the fun is really in the embellishing and I”m looking forward to sewing on some lovely buttons and possibly pom pom fringe.

Here are the models:

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Wow, I’m impressed! The girls look beautiful in their ponchos, and you’re learning by doing which is the most efficient way! (At least, it has been for me…) You go girl!

    Reply
  2. Love the ponchos! I have two new grandbabies, so this is a project I’m going to try! They’re a boy and a girl, so “pink” and “camo” treatments sound about right.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

