RSS Feed

A Visitor to my Garden

Posted on

I hate to overshadow the lovely new picture of Paul and his kohlrabi with a new photo already, but this must be put up.  Many of you might know of my aversion to snakes. OK, my downright absolute fear of them. I routinely am hesitant about touching our hose because I think it’s a snake, I am nervous about weeding (and won’t weed around the pond ever since finding a skin), and there are certain areas I’m a little afraid to walk around in (because one time I saw a garter snake there.) So imagine my reaction to this:

This morning I was making some iced tea, so I went to pick some mint from our weedy mint bed, which just today has a sunflower and a cosmo blooming prettily. My hand stretched out to a nice sprig of mint about 3 feet off the ground and AGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! Coiled on a leaf, looking like an innocent shoelace, was this:

I can’t believe I kept my terror in check long enough to run inside and get my camera and take this nice (is it really nice if I can hardly bear to look at it?)picture (Zoom, not macro, because no way was I getting too close to it.) So, no mint in my tea and now I’m afraid it came from a nest of baby snakes all just plotting ways to show up in weird places and frighten me. Oh, and here’s a shot of the mint area so you can see how bizarre it is that I happened to reach right where this teeny tiny little thing was (it’s to the left and below the sunflower) and also the scale. The little snake appear to be 1/4 of an inch wide.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. How disconcerting that must have been. Do you know what kind he is ? Was it just the one ? He looks so little or the mint is very big!

    Reply
  2. It was indeed very tiny, maybe a teenage garter snake? Paul has confessed that he has seen this snake around for a little while now and just thought it prudent not to tell me.

    Reply
  3. I shouldn’t laugh, but I think that’s hilarious that Paul’s like, “Oh yeah, that snake!” Heh. I can’t decide if that was good of him not to tell you or cruel of him. 😀

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Welcome (and unwelcome) Signs of Spring « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

