RSS Feed

Getting my craft on + Something for Tabitha

Posted on

038

Exciting news-I finally ordered a copy of Ottobre so that I might try my hand at actually sewing a garment.  I am sure my attempts will look nowhere near as beautiful as Astrid’s, but I’m ready to try.  Imagine if you will, though, how utterly incomprehensible and overwhelming this looks:

010

It’s like some insane subway map.  Apparently I need to trace the pattern pieces I will need off of this.

I’m feeling the Christmas spirit a bit early this year and eager to get started making things. This was the sight of my dining room table tonight:

033

I’ve been working on these wall clips (like the ones I made for Clark and Tabitha’s rooms) to hang Christmas cards from.  I figure I’ll give a couple to friends and keep one or two for myself.  Then I finally put Tabitha’s name on her chair (only a whole year after her arrival.)  Finally, Paul and I spent the evening making the cleverest party invitations ever.  Unfortunately, they are not going to look so great after they go through the mail. The invites are for a cookie party so we made fortune cookies out of papers that I’d stamped with Christmas stamps and silver ink.  The party details I printed on a strip of paper to look like the fortune. I looked up online how to fold them and voila! Look how great they look here:

037

They will hopefully be able to expand once they are pulled from the envelope.

And, last but not least, we have finally finished Tabitha’s first birthday video. It’s 10 minutes long and features the songs “Shine” by Dolly Parton and “That’s My Daughter” by Loudon Wainwright. We’re pretty pleased with the result which shows her wonderful first yeart.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. Sarah – you’re so sweet! Congrats on the purchase! The trick for the tracing is finding some quiet time – I usually trace patterns when the children are at sleep – start by finding your pieces and following the line with your eyes, finger, a pencil – whatever. Then lay your tracing paper over and it’ll be much easier to “see” the shapes, because you already got to know them. Take it easy, be accurate, and don’t rush. The Ottobre English group has much more advice on how to do this, but this is how I do it. You’ll get used to it quite quickly – and in general, do ask questions if you need help! Either to me or the group – everybody is so helpful! You sure have been busy – love your projects, and I’ll be back to see the video! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ooooh! Those might be the most beautiful invitations EVER! (Uh, did they require extra postage? Is that what I can look forward to? :P)

    And the holiday clip string things look great! Such a cute and clever idea!

    I can’t wait to see how the sewing goes. I think you’re going to be a superstar at it.

    Reply
  3. hee hee, I wondered if you’d check here and figure that out. Admire the picture because I don’t know how well it will have traveled in the mail!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

