RSS Feed

The Annual Cookie Party

Posted on

030

Yesterday was our annual cookie party. I love entertaining at Christmastime–it’s wonderful to share the holiday spirit with friends and to have everyone over at a time when our house is looking its best and most festive and cozy, decorated with tons of stuff. We always make sure to have our tree up and it’s fun to have other folks see our ornaments.  Of course, the cookies are the star of the show. This year everyone bought a batch and we put out little signs with the names of the cookies.  Then, I put a chart on the wall with the names of all the cookies and gave everyone two stickers to vote with. They stuck the stickers as they wished on the chart and then whichever cookies had the most stickers won a prize. There was a first place winner and then a three way tie for second place. Prizes were given out.

My offerings were: orange date nut cookies

0261

thumbprints (these were my favorite)

028

and cherry tassies.

0251

The cherry tassies were a bit of a mess. I misread the recipe, which could be why they didn’t come out like I wanted them to. Or it could be that I didn’t really care for the peppermint-cherry combo. On the plus side, I got to say to Paul, “say….if you happened to get me mini muffin pans for Christmas could I receive them now so I can use them?” and I did!

Other entries:

Earl Grey tea cookies, which had real tea leaves in them!

0451

Cornmeal Crunchies-had crumbled bacon in it!

065

Lion’s Paws-beautiful almond “claws”

061

Fudgy BonBons-not a one left!

046

Hello Dolly Bars-I think these go by lots of names and are a heavenly sugary concoction of chocolate chips, coconut, and sweetened condensed milk. Yummmm

059

Macaroons-lovely and coconutty and I think they might have had some orange peel in them.

064

And the winner was….Carrot cake cookies-no picture, but it was like a whoopie pie with cream cheese frosting in between two oatmeal raisin carrot cookies.  These were delicious! Way to go, Melissa!

Oh, and to drink I made a punch of orange juice, pear nectar, club soda, and rum. It was quite yummy and I could have easily drunk many many cups.

Tabitha debuted the new dress (now shortened) and it was much admired:

043

And unrelated to Christmas, sewing, or entertaining, check out the sunrise this morning:

088

086

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. I am so sorry we missed the party — it sounds like a delicious time (and I know from past experience that it was definitely a wonderful time)! That sounds like a really impressive array of fancy-pantsy cookies, and I especially love that there were prizes this year. A truly good cookie party should definitely have winners and losers. 😀

    Also, AWESOME pictures of the sunrise!

    Reply
  2. I’m thinking next year I’m going to hot glue up some sort of actual TROPHY.
    Wasn’t the sunrise picture so pretty? I’m pleased it actually captured the color correctly.

    Reply
  3. A cookie party sounds like such fun! That sunrise is gorgeous!

    Reply
  4. Margaret Simpson

    I thought for a minute you were going to hot glue some cookies which would certainly hold the damn things together a lot better. I think those cherry tassies look yummy. I made a new one today, Ginger Squares, it has a gingerbread bottom and a strusel top with lots of chopped candied ginger. I got it from the King Arthur website a great source for lovely baking recipes.

    Reply
  5. That king arthur recipe sounds fantastic. I will go look it up. I have been lately hot gluing buttons to pretty ribbon to make bookmarks. I honestly don’t know how I got by without a hot glue gun before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

