RSS Feed

Happy New Year

Posted on

040

So it’s 2009. Think back to when you were a kid–how space agey did anything past 1999 sound? We had a lovely Christmas here, lots of presents and cozy family fun. It was just the four of us on Christmas Day and I barely cooked anything. We love our Christmas Day breakfast, so that’s what I focused on.  I make sticky buns every year and we always have bacon, too. This year of course we had an omelet as well with fresh eggs.

I received several gifts that I hope will yield results to share here. [In fact one of the gift tags was To: Sue Buttons]  In my stocking were several iron on embroidery patterns from Sublime Stitching.  I’ve started this little gnome and house, which I think I”ll turn into a sachet.  I’m eager to do a robot on a shirt for Clark, but he says no.

001

Mom got me A is for Apron, and I can’t wait to make one from the many adorable patterns included in the book.

Paul got me Seams to Me, which not only has 24 cool sewing projects in it, but also lots of good basic information that I think will be really useful to me as I embark on trying more clothing (and the aforementioned apron.)

Like millions of others we have vowed to eat more healthfully in the new year, but that starts tomorrow.  So we’ve been indulging in holiday baking and treat, including these snowmen cupcakes.  They were on the cover of the December Taste of Home and Clark has been asking to make them for a month.  I finally did when I was having my book group over and they came out quite adorable.  ( I did only fully decorate 6 of them, the rest I just frosted and dipped in the sugar. There was really no reason to have 20 snowmen cupcakes.)

042

A happy new year to all! My resolutions include more sewing, more crafts, more time enjoying these things.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Well you already knew I LOVE the cupcakes, and the embroidery looks AWESOME! What a great new year! 😀

    Reply
  2. Pingback: A is for Apron « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

