RSS Feed

Double Yolker

Posted on

This morning I went outside to collect the first egg of the day (our hens lay three a day and they seem to keep to the same schedul-early morning, late morning, mid afternoon.) I was shocked and kind of grossed out by the egg I found in the nest. It was gigantic and the shell was all ripply across the middle and the tip. When I was a kid I recall a few eggs with soft shells (not enough calcium), but had never seen anything like this.  Yesterday morning there was no early morning egg, so we surmised that perhaps this was a two yolker and cracked it open. Sure enough–two yolks.

Here’s the egg:

001(hmmm, I realize this photo also gives a little window onto the mess that is my kitchen counter!)

And here’s a picture of it next to one of the regular eggs. Mammoth, isn’t it?

006

And here it is cracked open:

007

Speaking of giant eggs, we’ve been enjoying reading all the Schott’s Miscellany books recently and read in one about a “Monster Egg.”  Simply it is a dozen egg yolks mixed together and put into a thin skin of some sort (like a sausage casing) and boiled. Then, the dozen white also mixed together and put into something with the now boiled yolk in its middle. Boil the whole thing and then you have a Monster Egg. Now, who cool would it be to have a Monster Deviled Egg and serve it along with a Bacon Explosion for Easter? I tell you, I am dying to try a slice of the Bacon Explosion.

As a postscript, I cooked the double yolk egg for Clark and Tabitha’s lunch (his request) and they ate the whole thing and loved it. I think it is not coincidental that Clark grew to like eggs after we started getting our own.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Wow, that is one huge egg! Have I mentioned how jealous I am that you have chickens? If we had a larger yard I might consider it, but with two dogs there’s just not enough room. We get eggs (etc) from the local dairy delivered weekly but it is so awesome that you have your own!

    Reply
  2. Hey Sarah,
    what does it mean when the yolk is a little bloody when you crack it open? That happened to me this morning (store bought) and I decided not to take any chances so I tossed it. I figure you are now the egg expert so you might know!

    Reply
  3. It’s still safe to use the egg, but I’d scoop away the icky bloody part. I had one of those the other day.

    Reply
  4. That double-yolker is crazy! I’d have been so creeped out by the shape and texture!

    (And I love you apologizing for the clutter on the counter. I didn’t even notice it in the picture until you pointed it out! :D)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

