RSS Feed

Hey Bird, watch out for that window!

Posted on

010

Last weekend we took a little trip to Vermont. While there we visited a bookstore called Brown Dog Books and I admired a book called Stencil 101, by Ed Roth of Stencil1.  Surprise! Paul secretly got it and gave it to me on Saturday for Valentine’s Day. Like many craft-art things I had the following reactions: excited to do it and wondered why I hadn’t thought to do it before because it seemed so simply and obvious.  I encourage you to check out the book and his site because the stencils are cool and so are the projects.  Right away I was attracted to the idea of doing something on a window. Again-why had I never thought of this? You can easily put paint on glass and take it off. It doesn’t ruin your windows and it looks neat.  (Yet I know I have many friends who will probably be “shocked” that I did this and would never do it in their homes. Their loss!)

0041

009

I loved the bird stencil and thought it would look great in a corner of our big picture window in the kitchen (which we bird watch out of, in fact.) I’m very pleased with the results and am now ready to do some t-shirts and tote bags!

011

Stenciling Update: Ok, I posted this a couple hours ago and now I’ve new pictures and projects to add already. I can see how easy it is to get carried away with this. It’s so instantly gratifying. I believe everyone I know will be getting a stenciled gift this year.

053

The first item I did: a tree branch on a tote bag. I realized that if this was done in orange paint it would look like coral, which would be cool. I then added another one in another color.

054

Then a tee, for me, in two tones.

047

048

050

Then a tee, for Paul.

051

Next up is a white owl on a red t-shirt for Clark, but it is still in the dryer. I’ll have to get some little plain shirts for Tabitha and make some for her.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. This is so cool! I love the bird on the window! It really brings some cheer when it’s still winter outside. The turntable shirt is awesome!

    Reply
  2. Awesome! Love the tote and the window is a really neat idea.

    Reply
  3. Cool. I like the birdy on the window. I did some stenciling for my mom many years ago. She’s used that stain glass paint to decorate her front door window. They way you are doing it looks less thick. You’ll have to let me know ifyou think the paint fades. I’d love to do something with our porch windows from time to time.

    PS – Is this your blog?

    Reply
  4. Thanks all!
    Anne, I think the turntable would look good on a tank top.
    Robyn, yes this is my blog. The paint is not too thick. I could have done more layers, but I liked the way this looked. Plus I used acrylic so I could just razor blade it off if I wanted to.

    Reply
  5. Hey Sarah…I’m so glad I checked out your FB page or else I would have missed your blog, which I had completely forgotten about! Even as one who is craft-impaired, I’m quite drawn to the stenciling, especially the windows and t-shirts. I’m a very big fan of a cute tee or tank top. The turntable is especially adorable! You should check out my friend Jenny’s website, http://www.crafttestdummies.com/ She’s a crafting maniac, and quite good. She also does music and art therapy…really cool woman.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

