RSS Feed

Ahoy There!

Posted on

002

I bought this stretchy knit on a whim when fabricbliss.com was going out of business. It said it was perfect for leggings and I thought how funky would Tabitha look in wacky sailor print leggings with a t-shirt? I finally got down to trying it tonight when I looked at the legging pattern in Ottobre and noted that the pants are made with a mere two pieces. I did not fool myself into thinking it would be easy because I do know my limitations. In fact, case in point–I had to stare at the two cut out pieces for a couple minutes before I realized how they were meant to go together (because Ottobre does not actually tell you that sort of thing.) I was very pleased with myself for actually finishing the seams, but the first huge error I made was apparently in tracing the pattern as when I folded over the legs they were not the same length. And now that I have hemmed them I see the legs are completely different lengths. But, I’m going to wait until tomorrow when I can try them on her and then see what length they ought to be.

001

The real challenge here (for me) was the elastic waist. I am fairly pleased with how it came out.  My only disappointment is that I thought this fabric was a nicer knit than it really is. They feel more like pajama bottoms than the cute little spring pants I want them to be. No matter-she will wear them anyway! Up next-making pajama bottoms for Clark out of some lizard print flannel I bought on sale. Many thanks to Paul for making my sewing table more usable and inviting by installing a shelf over it tonight. Now that the surface is clean I hope to get around to doing the many projects on my list!

Update: And here it is the next morning and I have put the pants on Tabitha and think they are adorable. Yes, you can see the difference in the leg lengths, but she is active so I may not even adjust it to make them even. And I feel quite inspired to make her many more little leggings should I come across some cute knits.

024

011

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

7 responses »

  1. These are so adorable! You should be so proud of yourself — Tabitha looks so stylish in them! Well done!!

    Reply
  2. Ooh, these are adorable! I love the print. Also, when the heck did Tabitha get so big?!

    Reply
  3. very cute… is the shirt inside out by design?

    Reply
  4. Ahh, the shirt was noticed. Well, I wanted her to model the pants and Paul had just bought her that cute green shirt but it has a design on the front which I thought might detract from the pants print, so I had her try it on like that just for the pictures.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Plant those Peas! « So what? Sew buttons!

  6. Pingback: Butterflies and Bugs Leggings « So what? Sew buttons!

  7. Pingback: Tiptoeing Back to the Sewing Machine | So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

