RSS Feed

Good Fences Make Good Neighbors (for deer, dogs, and rabbits!)

Posted on

033

Seems like it’s the purple crocuses turn! I saw pictures here and here, and ran out to my yard and found my first purple one blooming. Well, white with purple stripes, really, but these are the ones that bloom after the batch of yellow ones in our yard.

0311

And here is the progress of the hyacinths:

027

And our plum tree has lots of lovely buds:

029

Paul continues to work on the putting in the new permanent fence around the garden (with room for two additional beds, which are next up on the agenda).  To my (but not his) surprise there turned out to be many rocks, including large flagstone type pieces several inches underground.

022

Clark was a big help.

023

I’m really able to envision our garden now.  I’m planning on sunflowers along one side, morning glories along the other, and am toying with the idea of painting it cottage garden colors. (like purple and blue.)

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. I loooooove striped crocuses, and am super jealous that you have some! Also, the garden fence looks super! I can’t wait to see it painted awesome colors.

    Reply
  2. I also love those crocuses! I haven’t seen striped ones like those before and they are gorgeous!

    Isn’t it amazing what you can dig up in your yard? At my old house in Mount Pleasant, we dug up all manner of crazy stuff – old bottles, numerous screws/nails/washers/etc., and even a really weird bone thing that seemed like it should’ve been at an archaeological dig: http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=bone&w=52066925%40N00 (creepy!).

    Your garden is going to be so awesome!

    Reply
  3. Anne, that thing you dug up is so cool! And gross! Since we are heavy into dinosaur books here now, I choose to believe you found a dinosaur jaw. I looked at your new pics of your yard and am excited for you-a blank canvas to put your lovely purple and green flowers and plants in.
    Oh, and speaking of digging up. Under our big maple tree shards of glass are constantly pushing up out of the dirt. It’s weird.

    Reply
  4. Oh! The shards of glass we pulled up from our old yard! They were seemingly endless – the entire five years I lived there, we were constantly finding pieces small and large.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

