RSS Feed

Vacation, Part Deux: The Garden

Posted on

Apparently while we were away there were great spring garden conditions, which included lots of rain. We returned to discover first of all, that the grass is green! It was wonderful to walk into the kitchen, look out the window and see bright green grass, bright yellow forsythia, and I can even see a tinge of color on the maple tree.

010

All of the hyacinths had grown tall and fully bloomed (and smelled heavenly):

0032

Most of the daffodils are blooming, including these tiny ones:

007

The peas had sprouted up:

0061

And now, seven days after our return look how high they are today:

042

The plum tree had lots of buds:

005

Yesterday the first one opened:

008

And tonight, take a look:

043

Seems like the earth is suddenly saying “enough with the slowly waking up, let’s grow!”

Before we left Paul completed constructing the other two garden beds, plus added a narrow rectangular one which has potatoes and asparagus in it. Yesterday we allowed the chickens into the fenced in garden (after blocking off access to the two beds which do have things planted in them). I swear, they are nature’s rototillers. Take a look here and note the narrow area between the beds.

0031

See how part is green grass and part (with the chicken) is churned up dirt? It all used to be grass! They did a good job digging things up and seemed to enjoy eating up lots of fresh spring grass as well as worms and grubs.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. I meant to tell you how pretty your hyacinths looked. My wedding bouquet was purple hyacinths. Once we get a flower bed created, whenever THAT will be, I plan on trying to recreated my bouquet in dirt.

    Reply
  2. Wow, this is awesome! I can’t quite plant veggies here yet (we got a bunch of snow last week and we’re not in the safe frost-free zone yet) but I can’t wait!

    I am so jealous of your chickens! They look gorgeous, and what an awesome way to ready your beds for planting!

    Reply
  3. Robyn, how pretty to have hyacinths in your bouquet! I love the way they smell and we’ve put more bulbs in each year and I think they look very nice en masse.
    Anne, we also had a little snow and frost last week and I was surprised and also relieved because I was afraid we were slow with our other plants, but apparently not. we’re looking to get more hens this spring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

