RSS Feed

Happy Easter

Posted on

OK, it was a few days ago, but this is the first chance I’ve had to get to a post (and I’ve got a backup of book posts for The Last Book I Read, too!)  We had a lovely Easter at home with just my mother joining us for dinner.  Mom was bringing  a nice vegetable lasagna for dinner, so we decided to have a lavish holiday breakfast: fresh scrambled eggs, scones, and bacon. Not just any bacon, but the bacon we brought back from Virginia from the Smithfield Ham place.  It is smoked slab bacon so you can cut off your own nice thick slices.

019

I was pretty excited about it because many years ago I went on a Girl Scouts Wider Opportunity in Canada and a highlight of the primitive canoe trip was the slab bacon.  Sadly, this did not live up to that memory.  It was just way too much fat for me.

020

Also, I’m crazy for salty meat and this was too salty even for me!!

For our dessert I made a rabbit shaped carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and of course, coconut fur. It was pretty delicious and Clark enjoyed eating its parts.

023

The teeny tiny grape hyacinths are blooming again. This year they actually seem a little bigger than last year. I did a super closeup and it was neat to see that the cluster is made up of little bell shapes.

030

Lots of rain yesterday and today. Today is supposed to be the lowest temp of the whole week, so this weekend we are hoping to put in our “plant after last frost” seeds.  Hooray!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

