RSS Feed

Happy Birthday to Me!

Posted on

0961

yes, that’s right. Today is my birthday.  It seems the whole weekend has been a delightful spring birthday weekend.  We had very warm weather yesterday (high of 74!) and today it was about 60 and not too bad at all.  We did a ton of gardening, but still managed to not plant the seeds we meant to.  I’m thinking as long as we get them in this week we are in good shape. We also still don’t have trellises for our peas, which will be needing them quite soon.  We may just use tomato cages!  My good friend Denise gave me a lovely bag of dahlia bulbs, which I promptly planted in a nice big clump.  I’ve always been intimidated by dahlias, though I love the way they look.

This afternoon we went to a really big park not too far away. Clark rode his bike all over the paths and was wildly excited.  We don’t go to this park very often and I’m always suprised by how many people are there.  There is a field that always has Indian gentlemen all dressed in white playing cricket, which is always a neat sight.  I’ve never seen cricket anyplace else.

Yesterday both kids enjoyed spending time in the chicken coop and at one point I tried to take a picture of a hen sitting to lay an egg. She leapt off her nest in an indigant huff and came striding out of the coop:

018

Our pink tulips started blooming for my birthday and the park had gorgeous cherry trees and beds of daffodils. So, here are a bunch of flower photos.

Daffodil, our house:

0081

Tulip, our house.  These red/yellow ones remind me of the kind my mother used to grow.

0041

Pink tulip, our house (because I really cannot get enough pink tulips)

025

Tabitha in the daffodils (she has just started to say “flower”, as well as sniff them, which is adorable.)

034

Clark, smirking in the daffodils:

044

Trees at the park:

083

All in all, a great spring weekend and a great birthday.

And in other happy news–bluebirds are nesting in our bluebird house!!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! You couldn’t possibly get a nice Spring weekend for a birthday than this one!

    Reply
  2. Happy happy happy birthday! And what a gorgeous gift to all of us to get to see these pictures! It sounds (and looks) like it was a wonderful celebratory weekend!

    Reply
  3. Happy birthday! What a great weekend for it! These flowers are all gorgeous! I can’t wait until our tulips start blooming.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

