RSS Feed

Tweeting–the old fashioned kind

Posted on

009

I think I need to create a new category: “wildlife”.  Today’s wildlife experience was quite thrilling. I was in the front garden area weeding and when I turned around there on the ground was a little baby bird.  This was right under the tree that has a wren house and two bird feeders on it.  My first thought was that it fell out of the bird house, but I don’t think anyone is nesting there right now. I got Clark and brought him over and of course I got the camera, too.  I didn’t want to scare it by touching it, but I also didn’t want to leave it right in the middle of the walking path and the dog.  I gently scooped it up, took some one handed pics, and let Clark touch it. Then we gently deposited it under the tree (where the dog won’t go) and then of course went inside to thoroughly wash our hands!

Other excitement today was a surprise in the garden. Well, not garden so much as weedy area of the yard.  As I’ve mentioned before it’s been raining for days, making everything excessively wet and lush.  There are very few times in a week where we are available to mow and Wednesday mornings is one of them, so I decided to do it despite the wet.  It was very satisfying to see our yard looking nice and having the garden areas look even better against trimmed grass.  So what was the surprise? I was zipping along the edge and I saw some tall asparagus!! We had given up on them and so Paul had mowed down the area where they are meant to be last week.  Imagine our surprise to see these lovely tall stalks.  Didn’t eat them yet-will tomorrow.  Oh, and Paul is churning out the raised beds–he whipped up a small one today for watermelons.

0041

So, since I added the “big green froggie” and “wildlife” categories I was just reviewing some older posts to update them.  Amusingly it seems that last year we pronounced Big Green Froggie dead because we hadn’t seen him in a while. How wrong we were! I can’t tell you what pleasure it gives us to see our two huge frogs every day.  When we first put the pond in (something I laughed at as a folly of Paul’s, but which I love him dearly for doing because it has brought us an unbelievable amount of pleasure) the fish were the main attraction.  We started with four, they multiplied like crazy, and as the pond foliage and plants grew in we really didn’t see them so much anymore.  They are there, but they have places to hide.  I also saw from a post that I apparently meant to transplant a big rudbekia and don’t think I ever did.  In other garden news I noticed that a nice oregano plant has come back!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. you know, I know what asparagus looks like; have even cooked it though I personally don’t like it. But I did not think asparagus looked just like it looks in the supermarket when its growing! I don’t know what I thought it looked like but it actual looks a little cartoony to me, just growing exactly like it looks on your plate.

    Reply
  2. This is amazing, on both counts! I love the bird picture (and I hope it was okay in the end), and how marvelous that your asparagus has borne fruit! WOO HOO!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

