RSS Feed

A few days in the life

Posted on

041

A few things to catch up on.  Last week was Paul’s 40th birthday–Happy Birthday to him! We enjoyed the day by taking the kids to the Crayola Factory in Easton, PA.  It’s funny how when you’re a parent it’s fun for you to do something that’s really fun for your kids simply becuase it gives you pleasure to watch them enjoying/experiencing something.  That’s the way it was with our day.  Then we came home and I whipped up a cake and some salmon for dinner.  A couple days later was Mother’s Day and we enjoyed puttering around the garden in great weather, and then in the evening I got on a train and headed to Washington D.C. for a couple days for National Library Legislative Day. We did some weeding and assessing of the yard.  The hostas are huge and look much better now that the crazy weeds around them are pulled. The pond area is absurdly lush.  It may be the only real life experience I’ve ever had of plants getting as large as their tags say they will.

So, on to some pictures! Clark picking up a hen. They easily escaped a makeshift pen so we left them gobble up weeds and worms for a while while we were out with them.  They are really quite tame.

048

I just loved these striped tulips so much this year:

044

While I was away Paul took this.  Apparently our yard is a lovely place for everyone to hang out in in the middle of the day:

019

The peonies are getting ready to burst open

031

I was delighted to come back and find the columbine blooming (and it is noticably spread since last year.)

035

Our once despised, now beloved “driveway weed flower” is blooming again, prolifically.  [By the way,as I took these pictures I realized that if you look at posts last May you’ll see pictures of the very same plant.  But I can’t help myself! I must photograph them each year.]

036

The pond forget-me-nots are blooming and they are quite dainty and lovely:

038

And finally, a nice brother and sister moment I was able to sneak up and capture without them knowing:

010

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. Margaret Simpson

    Sarah that weed-flower looks like Bachelor Buttons to me. Love looking at all your lovely flowers, wildlife and beautiful children. Hope is quite taken with Tabitha. She talks about her frequently and ” she has beautiful hair Grandma” she tells me.

    Reply
  2. Sarah, your flowers are so gorgeous! Those green and pink tulips are definitely something special. I totally want some of those.

    P.S. I love the falling crayons at the factory- so awesome.

    Reply
  3. The stripped tulips are lovely! I have not seen them in with that coloring before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

