RSS Feed

Another Apron!

Posted on

004

This pattern is called “Psychedelic Squares”, which seems like a silly sort of name for what is really a very plain rectangular basic apron.  This is actually a gift for my sister-in-law and I chose the fabric (which I love-do you see the birds?) quite a while ago. I’m embarrassed to say her birthday is in March!  I’m pleased with the way it came out, though in all honesty I don’t think it came out quite as well as my “fruit tart” apron.

008

One thing I noticed that was interesting is that each pattern in the book is by a different designer and so the instructions for each pattern depend on how the person wrote them.  Though each apron I’ve made so far had a waistband and ties, the methods for putting each on were described differently.  Which just goes to show you can do it however works best for you!  Also, I’m fairly confident that in the instructions for this one there was a step missing and a step put in that made no sense at all (so I didn’t do it.)  Oh, and rather than use purchased bias tape for the top of the pocket I used a little of the binding I had leftover from my fruit apron!

002

In garden news the heavy rain continues making everything grow like crazy.  The peas were so tall and heavy they fell over and had to be wrangled back upright with twine.  We pick some every day and they are delicious.  A surprise to us–we had numerous ripe strawberries in the annoying bed that used to have strawberries, should have herbs, always has tall weeds.  For some crazy reason we are not growing lettuce, which is a disappointment, but I am quite excited that we are, for the first time ever, growing corn!

2020

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. How lucky to find strawberries! I want to grow those at some point. I *love* your close-up photo of the peas in the pod! Beautiful.

    Reply
  2. Sarah I am VERY impressed with your sewing abilities! But I did like the first apron best. Keep it up – I love seeing all of your creations!!

    Reply
  3. Thank you! Anne, when I looked at the peas i kept singing a storytime rhyme about “5 fat peas in a peapod pressed”
    Kathleen, I liked that first pattern, too and think I”ll make it again with another fabric. Though I do think it’s cute how the ties on this one wrap around. Right now I’m working on a top for Tabby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

