RSS Feed

Butterflies, Birds, and Bees

Posted on

067

I was so taken with how easy and successful the bee shorts were that I decided to whip up another pair using the leftover bugs and butterflies knit that I’d made leggings out of this winter. I sewed these up quite quickly and am very pleased with the result. I decided to throw caution to the wind (because let’s face it these are just comfy shorts for the summer) and not finish the seams with the zigzag stitching. Instead I just used pinking shears to trim them. I added a pocket just for fun.

068

I’m also thinking of adding an applique to a white top to go with the bee shorts.

Our blackberries are ripening, though it’s hard to know when one is sweet or sour. since they are not ripening all at once I think maybe I’ll freeze them and then eventually make sauces or jams from them.

I decided that overall I”m very disappointed in my flowers this summer.  It seems like I don’t have very much to cut and bring in the house. The daisies are done, the coneflowers are fading (though the new blooms are brighter), and the zinnies are just not as copious as I thought they’d be. And only a few cosmos 😦   I am delighted with the dahlias, but can’t bring myself to cut them as I am enjoying seeing them outside.

010

It’s about an hour later as I return to this and the kids have been tucked in and I’ve gone and done a wonderful addition to the bee shorts. I’d bought an inexpensive white top for her to wear with them and embellished it by cutting out a bee shape (Thank you, Paul) and machine appliqueing it on. Then I embroidered on atenna. This is really my first attempt at machine applique, and it’s certainly not perfect, but I think it’s adorable. I can see myself easily getting carried away making many outfits like this.

074

075

This morning I made a special Saturday morning breakfast from my childhood-roll-ups (aka crepes.) Clark is getting to be an excellent egg cracker and check out this suprise from one of the Comets-a double yolker!

020

It’s August and one of my favorite things about this time of year is the sound at night of the cicadas, katydids, and other myriad insects.  Throw open those windows and hear the sounds of late summer!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. The bee ensemble is AWESOME! Tabitha is going to be the most stylish kid around!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

