RSS Feed

Our Harvests

Posted on

IMG_4942

The blackberries are ripening and despite my squeamish anticipation of sourness each time, they are turning out to be sweet and juicy.  My issue with many of this type of berries is that they seem to go moldy very quickly after being picked. So I froze the ones I picked yesterday and if I don’t eat today’s berries on tomorrow’s cereal they too will be destined for the freezer.

IMG_4943

IMG_4946

I liked setting out everything I picked on our newly cleaned windowsill.  It reminded me of our first big haul from the CSA and I had to laugh at the difference in quantity. But you know what? What we are getting from our own garden is totally ample. Eggs, berries, cucumber, zucchini, tomatoes, potatoes, basil, garlic, corn-it’s just right.

Speaking of corn…it looks great but is a a big disappointment-MEALY. Ugh. I was really looking forward to our dinner tonight too (which, by the way, good use for some zucchini was grated into a turkey burger) and I only ate a few bites of my corn.  Paul looked it up and apparently it has to do with the weather during the early formation of the ear. Not much we can do about that (though I wonder then how has the local corn I buy at the market been so consistently sweet??)

That great big zucchini has so far been used two ways and there is still some left. First I made a zucchini spice bread from Everyday Food. It turned out great, so I’m thinking I’ll use it as my standard recipe. I added chopped dates to it and made two small loaves and one teeny tiny loaf.  To the teeny tiny one I stirred in some dark chocolate covered crystallized ginger, which was a taste treat for sure.  For last night’s dinner I made turkey burgers and I grated some zucchini into that, too.  It made no discernible difference, though I presume it kept the burgers from being dry and was a good way to sneak in some vegetable.

IMG_4952

While checking out the loads of butternut squash (at least a dozen good sized ones!) in the garden last night I saw this fascinating stuff on the underside of a leaf:

IMG_4948

What is it? Some sort of bug excrement? Bug eggs or larvae?

IMG_4950

p.s. I’ve just read some old posts and it’s crazy how quickly one forgets garden plans, cooking ideas, and so on. I swear I should just read last year’s same time posts to get dinner ideas, ways to use the produce ideas, and definitely to stick with garden plans!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. What an artful blackberry display!

    Reply
  2. Why thank you! That is an olive dish. I do not eat olives, but I love the spiral and thought it the perfect vessel for these berries

    Reply
  3. Those are definitely insect eggs on the underside of the leaves. They both look like they could be squash bugs: http://onmaggiesfarm.wordpress.com/2007/07/15/my-nemesis-returns/
    http://www.extension.umn.edu/distribution/horticulture/M1208.html

    Those blackberries look so delicious! I love that dish.

    Reply
  4. Thank you Anne! I am going to run outside and remove them immediately!

    Reply
  5. I know how you feel, Sarah – I’ve been checking the underside of leaves all summer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

