RSS Feed

This and That

Posted on

I’ve been so slow about posting lately (I have quite a backlog of books to do over at The Last Book I Read), but I suppose in part it’s because I’ve been doing a lot of sewing and hobby stuff lately, dealing with a mysterious fever Clark had (swine flu? Lyme disease? It went away and he’s fine), and throwing myself into the change of season. I’m so ready to embrace apple picking, jean wearing, apple eating, and so on.  Clark goes back to preschool next week and he’s quite excited about it, as am I for him.

So here’s a rundown of pictures of note and such.  First, another bee top for Tabitha.  It turned out too large, but since it is summery I decided not to alter it, but to save it instead for next summer. This was my first time making real pleats, which came out pretty well.

021

020

In progress: sewing a tote bag

In progress: baby quilt for my dear friend’s baby, who was born today.  I’ve got the top and bottom tied together and am going to embroider today’s date and the baby’s name on it now and then bind it.  Here’s the top after it was pieced together:

016

The change in sunrise/sunset and daylight hours is very apparent in the chickens’ laying behavior.  During the summer (and as recent as 2 weeks ago) by 9am all 9 eggs would have been laid.  However, now they are laying much later in the day and I didn’t get all the eggs today until mid-afternoon. One of the ladies:

022

Our ladies, by the way, are completely people friendly and always on the lookout for treats. They run up to cars that pull in the driveway.  If you call out “here chick chick!” one will run and then all the others will follow.  If you are sitting on the front porch, one or two might hop right up there to see what’s going on.  They are a delight.

Cooler days are very pleasant for Big Green Froggie-he’s been spending quite a bit of time out on the patio.  He was in the pond, though, the other day when a hen fell into the pond! The hen turned out to be fine-I ran outside and scooped her up and wrapped her in a towel.

011

012

We saw some interesting fuzzy caterpillars yesterday.

008

Check out the teeny tiny grippy feet that help it hold on to this thick piece of grass:

005

And here is Tabitha making the face she does when she says “Nooooooo”  Ever since she finally started saying Clark’s name (“Clark-Clark”) she says it all the time.  It’s especially funny when she says “Clark Clark No!”, as she is here. By the way, neither of us has ever said “Clark-Clark”, so I don’t know why she does.

066

In the front the squash plants have run amok, reaching out like a sash across this tree:

012

What’s neat is the tiny tendrils that reach out to whatever they can and grab on, holding up this big vine and its big leaves and blossoms:

011

Here is Clark standing next to a very tall…plant.  I am holding out hope that it is going to be a beautiful flower (I did plant a lot of seeds here), but I think it just might be a spectacular weed. The other tall plants are zinnias. The black thing behind the plants is our new composter, which Clark won at the Somerset County 4H Fair! Very exciting. We are thinking that by having it closer to the house (and it doesn’t smell, so why not?) we will be more likely to empty our compost into it daily.

017

Hoping to finish the bag and quilt in the next couple of days, and will certainly have some updates then.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. You’re not the only one who hasn’t been blogging as much as she’d like to. Something about the end of summer/beginning of fall!

    Love the bee top! Plus, how awesome to have something new already set for next year.

    Great shots of the caterpillar! I think it might be a Salt Marsh Moth Caterpillar? (http://www.simplegiftsfarm.com/white-fuzzy-caterpillar-salt-marsh-moth-caterpillar.html)

    Reading “Clark Clark no” makes me think of Click Clack Moo! (I love that book.)

    Reply
  2. I think you’re right, Anne, about what kind of caterpillar. The moved surprisingly quickly. I like Click Clack Moo as well! Maybe I ought to write my own book, Clark Clark No!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

