RSS Feed

Welcome to Fungus Fairyland

Posted on

004

Check out this beautiful mushroom spotted at Clark’s school this morning. I was so taken with it that I went back this afternoon to photograph it. I just couldn’t get over the way this spongy little plant had literally burst through the solid moss.  See how it has just torn right through it? I mean, how fast did that thing grow?? I’m under the impression it basically shot up through the ground overnight. It is just too perfect and adorable–just the sort of mushroom one expects to have fairies living under.  I didn’t see any fairies, but I did manage to catch these creatures in the act of hanging around this fungus.

010

006

007

005

This specimen is clearly a fairy table:

014

034

And this is “yellow golf ball mushroom”:

027

And in case you had any doubt that these bizarre looking things existed millions of year ago…

022

Next time you’re outside take a look around and you just might see some magical places right at your own feet!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. I love these! I especially love that you brought little creatures to pose with them. So awesome!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Anne! I think I was in part inspired by your Blythe doll.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

